archive-ie.com » IE » T » THETASTE.IE

Total: 346

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • The Ice House Hotel Ballina Review | TheTaste.ie
    in many top Irish hotels we extremely impressed by this room The main reason for this visit was to taste the culinary skills of Head Chef Anthony Holland For starters we went for Assiette of Winter Vegetables which consisted of Beetroot Puree Pickled Baby Carrots Hummus delicious Sweet Potato Crisp Toasted Brioche Nut Crust A throughly enjoyable starter with a light crispy texture Our second starter was Kelly s Black Pudding Potato Cake resting on Chives Scallions Organic Creamed Leeks mixed with Silverskin Onions Apple Raisin Chutney An interesting take on popular ingredient in many an Irish Dish Before our mains we were presented with a superb amuse bouche of seared scallop and celeriac puree and chirizo on the side adding a spicy kick to complement the buttery melt in the mouth scallop In our opinion this dish should be on the main menu as it was outstanding A hard act to follow and continuing with the seafood theme our first main was Pan Fried Fillet of Cod sourced locally with Wards Crabmeat Herb Gnocchi was light and fluffy and the texture worked beautifully with the cod The dish was completed with a small helping of Prawn Ginger Wonton and nestled over a Mango Coriander Coulis The second main was a Confit of Irish Pork Belly with caramelized apple it was a generous portion with Enisco Organic Beetroot mixed with Carrot and Ginger Puree with prosciutto william potato and red wine jus Pork Belly if done right is one of my favorite mains and Chef got it absolutely perfect the sweet caramelized apple has given me a lasting food memory and this alone would make me dine again in The Ice House For desserts with went for the Blueberry Strawberry ice cream with marshmallows topped with Meringues and a raspberry sorbet and our second dessert was Warm Apple Blackberry Crumble both were satisfactory but would have preferred to have seen a more adventurous list of desserts to match up to the previous courses You can clearly see that the Chef sources and supports local suppliers on the menu they are proud to list Garvin s Seafood Ballina Kelly s Butcher Newport Falcon Fruits Ballina Wildwood Vinegars Lacken Eniscoe Organic Gardens and Crossmolina Calvey s Butcher Achill Overall for a hotel restaurant the level of presentation and flavors was extremely high and Chef Anthony Holland should expect to be in the mix for connaught food awards next year This hotel has a new general manager in Niall Kerins and it is clear to see Niall is passionate about guest having the best experience possible his staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble Unfortunately we didn t pre book the extensive list of spa treatments and missing out this time however yet another reason to return one day This is a culinary break we would recommend however make sure you are staying for 2 nights so you get to experience all the Ice House has to offer From

    Original URL path: http://thetaste.ie/wp/the-ice-house-hotel-ballina-review/ (2015-02-21)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Chameleon Restaurant | 20 Years of Success | TheTaste.ie
    and melted in the mouth The peanut sauce with enough lime to balance out the garlic and ginger of the marinating curry paste Scallop Bumbu Bali were Irish king scallop in a bumbu bali sauce balinese foam pomegranate reduction and crab The scallops were perfectly cooked silky juicy and full of flavours while the crab had a refreshing smack of granny smith apples subtle hint of chilli I could have eaten a massive amount of these and nothing else Next the Otak otak pipeh was a Crab Cake with hake asian herbs ginger garlic and chillies coated in panko crumbs With enough Hake to add substance and not overpower some sweet potato enchancing the sweetness of the Crab Meat coupled with the sweet sour of the Mango Chilli Sauce this little gem delivered a glorious mouthful of Sunshine on the palate A side of Asinan salad was a mix of Chinese leaves pak choi coriander cucumber shavings shredded mango pineapple in a galangal and shallot dressing Here the simple ingredients of the dressing where the shallots and galangal are browned and caramelised in Broightergold Rapeseed oil transforming all the simple ingredients into a harmonious plate of flavours For additional textures with a Crunch factor came Pangsit goreng were Crispy fried Pork Wontons served with a chilli sambal Slow cooked pork belly is used here as the filling It fell apart on the first bite with a subtle hint of ginger cumin fennel scallions Oh My need I say more Only that they were demolished in a flash The famous Perkedel followed a crisp Potato cake with Chick peas and Curry Leaves It was served on a little mound of finely shredded red cabbage enrobed with the most delish pickled aubergine mayonnaise a mango chilli salsa This Indonesian style potatoe cake had some lovely textures to it which came from some finely diced vegetables The Pandang leaves were wonderfully aromatic and all encased in a golden crispy coating of Panko crumbs and toasted sesame seeds The final dish of braised Ox Cheek Beef Rendeng was wonderfully rich and fragrant slow cooked it was very tender and juicy and fell apart on contact and practically melted in the mouth A perfect harmony of flavours with undertones of tamarind and coconut It was full of fantastic flavours offered a very real feel good factor This was a pure Celebration of Indonesia and indeed a glorious feast that took me back to very happy memories of holidaying in Bali This adaptable couple are looking forward to what the future holds for their enduringly popular gem of a restaurant and Award Winning Food Soon you will be able to purchase some of their produce at the weekly food market in Temple Bar sample some of their food at the Temple Bar Taste Trail at the end of January 2015 I don t know about you but I will without doubt be stocking up on their One pot Sauces Pickled Aubergine Mayonnaise Chameleon 1 lower fownes

    Original URL path: http://thetaste.ie/wp/chameleon-20-year-of-success/ (2015-02-21)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Dublin’s emerging cocktail culture - TheTaste.ie
    it changed the way the simplest of drinks should taste And I don t mean for the better The sign of a really great cocktail is subtlety of flavour It takes an undeniable skill to mix a drink properly and even more skill to play with the ingredients and make something new and interesting That s what we lost in the recession and that s what we re regaining now A playground of bars Fast forward to today and things are really taking off again the age of the mixologist has arrived or re arrived If you take just a moment to think I bet you can name at least 5 places to get a really good cocktail in Dublin Some of the first that come to mind will undoubtedly be Vintage Cocktail Club The Liquor Rooms The Exchequer 37 Dawson Street and The Dylan But competing with these top bars are also restaurants that put serious emphasis on their cocktails Fade Street Social 777 Opium Izakaya and Drury Buildings are all serious contendors taking the time to create specialty cocktail lists as well as to perfect the classics What do they all have in common These bars and restaurants are responsible for getting customers to put down the pints and try something new in the form of a cocktail They ve changed the idea of a pre dinner cocktail from a Bellini to a Negroni and have you sipping on an Old Fashioned instead of downing pints They ve got us experimenting with new spirits and in many cases taking the time to ask the bartender questions about what goes with what Creative freedom Bartenders are getting more creative than ever After years of reproducing basics and serving mostly classic cocktails to a small number of customers for years they re finally getting a chance to show off their skills Menus are expanding with a litany of signature drinks tying together flavours that the average customer might never think to try and the results are surprising Bartenders find the amount of Cosmos Mojitos and Sex on the Beach ordered each night are steadily decreasing customers are more interested in and increasing the demand for signature drinks They want to try something new and they want it to be unique The next wave What s next for the bar scene in Dublin With customers awareness of alcohol rapidly increasing and their thirst for new flavours bartenders are more able than ever to show off the spirits they re passionate for We re likely to see a jump towards specialty bar lists marked by specific attention to any given spirit We ll see rum bars gin bars and whiskey bars popping up giving us the chance to experiment with a more international range of drinks Part of what makes Dublin so special is the way it adapts drawing in new inspiration from across the globe and moulding it into something that is unique When it comes to our bar scene we

    Original URL path: http://thetaste.ie/wp/dublins-emerging-cocktail-culture/ (2015-02-21)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Champagne or Prosecco? - TheTaste.ie
    drank within a year or two of bottling and there s a vitality in each sip Many drinkers consider it to be lighter fruiter and generally easier to drink than champagne We re great lovers of prosecco It s a sweet alternative that lends a relaxed approachability to most any occasion But does that mean in time it will replace champagne in the Irish market We think not Champagne on the other hand is the definition of sophistication It s stood the test of time and requires strict adherence to traditional methods Using the Chardonnay Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier grape varieties champagne is more decadent than its Italian cousin For special occasions it s still the clear choice While prosecco may dominate at the dinner table champagne is a timeless addition to any major event When celebrating milestones engagements and weddings anniversaries and birthdays champagne is an undeniably glamourous necessity Critics and consumers alike tend to agree that champagne has a depth of flavour a complexity that adds to its appeal No doubt this comes from the painstaking attention to detail from the producers Dom Perignon s famous words Come quickly I am tasting the stars are perhaps the most accurate description of champagne s appeal With prosecco saturating the Irish market it s hard to know which is more popular why and whether prosecco will ever replace champagne in our celebrations Tell us a reason you might still splash out for a bottle of champagne on a special occasion and leave prosecco for the every day One lucky fan will receive a case of champagne from thetaste ie This is a twitter only competition so please add your answer below Best of Luck Champagne or Prosecco Another chance for you to WIN with TheTaste http t co kg0BXMPAw9

    Original URL path: http://thetaste.ie/wp/champagne-prosecco/ (2015-02-21)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Escaping has never been easier - TheTaste.ie
    parkland set adjacent to Ballymoney shore It boasts an award winning spa an 18 hole championship golf course and a truly refreshing beach walk So as you would expect we are now ready to break out our tog s and take our pasty Irish skin to the oceo spa We had both booked in for treatments for her a Musclease Aroma Spa Ocean Wrap and I went for the full body massage My massage was top notch a real stress buster Then when you finish it s off to the relax room for some sorbet juice and a serving of music that would calm even Keano At this stage I feel that I will do the Oceo spa an injustice if I don t let Chloe take over the spa review I m an Irish man and although I thoroughly enjoyed it my instinct is to say it was GRAND So this is what Chloe had to say Being in the Oceo Spa is like being wrapped in silk The dusky lighting of the spa and generously littered candles create a beautiful serene atmosphere The sixteen metre swimming pool and outdoor vitality pool are my favorite features I could easily spend hours here I was kindly treated to a Musclease Aroma Spa Ocean Wrap which cocoons you so tightly every bit of tension is released I left the Oceo Spa feeling rejuvenated and then I floated back to my room for the best sleep I ve ever had The restaurant is another highlight It s service was warm professional and efficient The food was even better There is a clear French influence on the menu and it s bursting with creativity The ingredients were of high quality and the execution was excellent The Foie Gras is what I recommend starting with it was served ballotine and parfait with poached chicken and toasted brioche black fig purée and Serrano ham with red wine and cinnamon jelly It s simply to die for The main courses we tried were John Dory pan fried with alfonso mango new season courgette Irish crab and sweet ginger and for me the fillet of Tipperary beef with oxtail terrine warm parsley jelly wild mushroom gratin and bordelaise sauce Both could not be faulted for thought and delivery The desserts were a real winner the nougatine parfait is delicate yet luscious The chocolate is rich smooth and delicious and we also tried the strawberry dessert during our stay another not to be missed The next morning we started our day with coffee on our balcony followed by a relaxing stroll on the beach After this we went to avail of the breakfast buffet do not miss this treat It s comprehensively stocked and replenished with fresh goodies ranging from fruits and banana bread to fried potatoes and delicious mini pastries It really is high quality stuff and in keeping with the consistency of what s on offer On this occasion I didn t golf but by all

    Original URL path: http://thetaste.ie/wp/escaping-never-easier/ (2015-02-21)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Balfes Restaurant Opens - A new social hub in the heart of the city serving the finest Irish ingredients - TheTaste.ie
    offers pilaf rice a vegan rice option and dairy free rice pudding Formerly Pitt Street Balfe Street was renamed in honour of internationally celebrated composer Michael William Balfe who was born and spent his youth in a house on No 10 Pitt Street The musical tradition continues today rebooted for the 21 st century Complimentary all day WIFI makes Balfes the perfect place to work or meet About the Team Executive chef Cathal Dunne has a passion for great food which started early on as he grew up in his family run Dublin restaurant His commitment to allowing high quality ingredients to shine on the plate was honed during his time working with Sebastian Masi in The Commons Cathal then took the helm at his own kitchen in La Maison in Castlemarket Street before moving to Mulberry Garden and now to Balfes where he serves quality Irish artisan produce Balfes restaurant manager is David Murray who brings with him extensive experience working in Europe and the US In Jerez in Spain David transformed an old merchant s house into an award winning boutique hotel This together with time running high profile events including celebrity weddings and EU summits enables David to deliver a welcoming smart yet relaxed dining experience How to find Balfes Online Join Balfes on Facebook https www facebook com balfesdublin Twitter BalfesDublin or Instagram BalfesDublin To make a booking call 01 646 3353 Balfes is open from 8am until late from Monday to Friday and from 10am until late on Saturday and Sunday Share this Twitter Facebook Email You may also like 12 Craft Beers of Christmas by IrishBeerSnob 12 Dec 2014 Vintage Cocktail Club 1 Sep 2014 Festive Wilde Westbury Review 25 Nov 2014 Follow Next story Ireland s growing foodie culture by Nick Munier Previous

    Original URL path: http://thetaste.ie/wp/balfes-restaurant-opens-new-social-hub-heart-city-serving-finest-irish-ingredients/ (2015-02-21)
    Open archived version from archive

  • 30% OFF Christmas Gift Voucher for Chef Oliver Dunne Group - Cleaver East, Bon Appetit, Tapas Bar and MasterClasses - TheTaste.ie
    Family Events Birthdays Anniversaries Christenings Baby Showers Communions etc as well as Corporate Dining and Events For more information see bonappetit ie Cleaver East is situated in the heart of Ireland s capital city on East Essex Street in the popular Temple Bar area Cleaver East offers the finest Irish and European cuisine The ethos of Cleaver East is to deliver the highest standard of food and cuisine at really affordable prices Open seven days a week Cleaver East offers great friendly service classic cocktails affordable wines along with Irish and International craft beers creating a fantastic dining experience Diners can choose from our delicious A La Carte menu featuring Beef Cuts CleaverEast with five of the best beef cuts from around the world or alternatively a 6 Course Surprise Tasting Menu For more information see cleavereast ie Terms Conditions Voucher must be used by the end of Feb 2015 Voucher must be used all in one visit Any overspend must be paid to the restaurant on the day This voucher cannot be combined with any other offer Excluding the Valentines Weekend Friday 13th Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th Advance bookings are required by email to info bonappetit ie Booking is subject to availability The voucher must be mentioned at the time of booking and presented on arrival About Oliver Dunne Born in Dublin Oliver Dunne has worked in some of the world s best restaurants Having spent his early years learning his craft under the Michelin acclaimed Chefs Gary Rhodes City Rhodes Anthony Demetre Putney Bridge Gordon Ramsey Restaurant Gordon Ramsey and Shane Osborne Pied a terre in London In 2003 Oliver came back to Ireland and opened the now synonymous Mint restaurant in Ranelagh Dublin After three years and numerous awards such as Ireland s best new restaurant chef he seized the opportunity to open his own restaurant Bon Appetit in the picturesque village of Malahide in North County Dublin in December 2006 Bon Appetit consists of a Restaurant Wine and Tapas Bar and a Cookery School and is split over a four story Georgian house with sea views More recently in 2013 Oliver opened Cleaver East in The Clarence Hotel Cleaver East is a restaurant serving a combination of Irish and International dishes innovatively presented offering a unique tasting experience Oliver s ethos is to produce simple amazing dishes using only the finest locally sourced ingredients in an informal relaxing environment In just thirteen months from opening and at the age of 28 Oliver s first floor restaurant was awarded a Michelin star the fastest ever received by an Irish Chef and has been maintained ever since He is also the youngest Michelin Star Chef in Ireland Oliver has been a regular contributor on various TV and Radio shows on RTÉ One such as The Afternoon Show Masterchef Ireland The Restaurant and Today On TV3 he is a regular contributor on Ireland AM and The Midday Show as well as making regular contributions to the airwaves on

    Original URL path: http://thetaste.ie/wp/product/christmas-gift-voucher-chef-oliver-dunne-group-cleaver-east-bon-appetit/ (2015-02-21)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Brasserie Sixty6 Offer | December | TheTaste.ie
    homemade sausages calamari succulent chickens monkfish Alfredos risottos homemade chips salsas to name but a few all taste so good Please See Set Menu Below Menu Subject to change Starters C Crab salad with avocado mousse and ruby grapefruit CA Sixty6 Caesar Salad bound with parmesan crispy bacon black olives tarragon and croutons C Mushroom Soup with parmesan and truffle oil Main Courses Chargrilled 6oz Sirloin of Beef with béarnaise sauce crisp watercress salad thick cut fries and pesto rolled greens C Fillet of Hake with baby potatoes wilted rocket asparagus wild mushrooms and lemon confit Wild Mushroom Tagliatelle with spinach truffle oil fresh herbs and parmesan CA Sixty6 100 Irish Beef Burger with smoked applewood cheddar homemade chutney three onion creme fraiche tomato thick cut chips and aioli Pork Leek sausages with herb mashed potatoes onion marmalade rich pan gravy crispy onions Desserts C Yoghurt and vanilla Pannacotta with blueberries and biscotti Pecan Pie with creme anglaise and chocolate ice cream Peanut Butter mousse with chocolate sauce and chocolate ice cream If you are feeling full you can exchange your dessert for house cocktail of the night www brasseriesixty6 com Terms Conditions Vouchers valid all of Jan Feb 2015 except Friday 13th and Saturday 14th February 3 course meal from the set menu plus 1 bottle of house wine for 2 diners can swap their dessert for a cocktail Advance booking required by calling restaurant please mention TheTaste ie Offer when booking Voucher must be printed presented to restaurant on the night Overspend paid to restaurant Voucher subject to availability Follow Next story Taste a Master Chef dining experience from Dylan McGrath at Rustic Stone with a 4 course meal for 2 people plus 50 bottle of wine for just 80 Previous story Get a 100 Belluccis Dining Voucher

    Original URL path: http://thetaste.ie/wp/product/trendy-taste-brasserie-sixty6-3-course-meal-2-plus-bottle-house-wine-e50/ (2015-02-21)
    Open archived version from archive