archive-ie.com » IE » L » LANDEDESTATES.IE

Total: 848

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Landed Estates Database
    10 It is still extant and part of a large farming enterprise Farranredmond At the time of Griffith s Valuation Robert C Hickson was leasing this house valued at almost 6 from Patrick Stack The latter held other property in the same townland from Lord Ventry s estate Buildings are still extant at the site Farrenmacfarrell James Ormsby was occupying this property at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 6 McTernan states that the house was built by Thomas Ormsby at the end of the eighteenth century In 1906 the house at Farranmacfarrell was owned by Alexander Cuffe and was valued at 7 The house is still extant but appears to be unoccupied Faughts Cottage At the time of Griffith s Valuation Phillip Parke was leasing a property at Faughts barony of Carbury valued at 7 from John Wynne This appears to be the house described on both the First and 25 inch edition Ordnance Survey maps as Faughts Cottage A house is still extant at the site Faulties At the time of Griffith s Valuation Francis Nesbitt was leasing a property valued at 11 from Catherine Warren at Faulties barony of Mohill Buildings still exist at the site Feacle Fighill The residence of Dennis Keogh in 1814 occupied by R Keogh in 1837 and by Richard Keogh in the 1850s when the house was valued at 2 The house has been known as Fighill since at least 1837 The old house is no longer lived in Fear More Occupied by William Roper junior at the time of Griffith s Valuation and by John J Daly in 1906 Fearmore House In 1856 Edward Horsman was leasing a house in the townland of Fearmore from the Clanricarde estate It was valued at almost 9 at the time It is still extant and occupied Featherstone Lodge Reverend John Fetherstonhaugh was leasing a house valued at 6 and over 1700 acres at Toorleitra from the Burke of Marble Hill estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation Very little remains of the house and the area has been extensively planted with forestry Fedamore A house known as Fedamore Cottage is marked on the first Ordnance Survey map By the early 1850s John and Edward Synan were the occupiers of a house valued at 27 in Fedamore townland which they held from Colonel Wyndham The property is shown as Fedamore House on the 25 inch map of the 1890s by which time it was the residence of J G Kelly It is still extant and occupied Feddans Reverend John Condon PP was leasing this property from the Power estate in 1850 when it was valued at 11 The parochial house is labelled on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s A house is still extant at the site Feenagh House Feenagh House is described as in ruins on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map and has almost disappeared by the publication of the 25 inch edition in the 1890s In 1786 Wilson refers to Fenagh House as the seat of Mr Wilson By the time of Griffith s Valuation the townland in which it was situated was the subject of Court of Chancery proceedings Some fragments of the walls are still visible Fell Fort Slater noted Fellport Fellfort is noted as the residence of R L Fell in the 1890s Fenagh Glebe Rev George Beresford held the Glebe at Fenagh from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 16 The Buildings of Ireland survey states that the house was built c 1829 It also records that the nearby church built c 1790 was extended in the 1850s by the Pack Beresford family Both buildings are still extant and in use Fenit House or Fenit Lodge Though this house was mostly associated with the Hurley family at the time of Griffith s Valuation it was in the possession of a Miss Locke when it was valued at 20 It was being leased by John Murray In 1906 it was owned by John C Hurley and valued at 33 Bary notes that it later came into the Fuller family through marriage It was sold in the 1970s but is still extant and occupied Fenloe House A red brick two storey 18th century house home of the Hickman family for the 18th and 19th centuries Hugh Poole Hickman was the occupier in 1837 and at the time of Griffith s Valuation when the house was valued at 28 He held the property from William Westby Feohanagh There is no large house marked on the first Ordnance Survey map for this townland however by the time of Griffith s Valuation in the early 1850s a house valued at 10 was recorded in Feohanagh It was occupied by James Wigmore and held from Viscount Lismore Grid reference is approximate Fermoy House Lewis refers to Fermoy House in 1837 as the residence of the late J Anderson to whom not only the town owes its prosperity but the entire country It was then occupied by Mrs Hennis The Reverend Maurice Collis was in residence by the time of Griffith s Valuation He held the property from Sir Robert Abercrombie and the buildings were valued at over 50 In 1786 Wilson writes of a house at Fermoy the seat of Mr Bryan The Irish Tourist Association Survey of 1942 states that Fermoy House was then the property of Maurice Cooke Collis and was divided into five flats The house was demolished in the 1960s Fermoyle Castle Iveragh Charles Sugrue was in possession of this property at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 15 In 1906 it was owned by the representatives of Edward Sugrue Bary states that there was originally an O Sullivan castle at this site on to which a house was built by John Sugrue in the 1820s The Sugrue family later moved to Cork and the house was used for some years as the local Catholic presbytery It is now a ruin Fermoyle House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Robert C Hickson was leasing this house valued at 28 from the Earl of Cork s estate Lewis notes Fermoyle House as the seat of J Hillyard in 1837 In 1906 it was the property of George A Hickson and valued at 25 Bary states that the house was for a long period associated with the Conway Hickson family It is still standing and inhabited Fermoyle Lodge Built in 1875 by the Berridge family as a shooting lodge It has since served as a guest accommodation and an art gallery and has been offered for sale on a number of occasions Fern Hall At the time of the first Ordnance Survey the Trant family were recorded as the proprietors of the townland of Polranny barony of Castlereagh including Fern Hall House Henry Dillon Trant was leasing it to John Irwin at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at almost 5 Gormley states that this branch of the Irwins was the oldest in the area having been recorded there in the sixteenth century The house was not in good repair by the end of the nineteenth century and no trace remains now Fern Hill AT the time of Griffith s Valuation this property was being leased from the Earl of Shannon s estate by Anna Atkins It was then valued at 28 In 1837 Lewis refers to it as the seat of W F Atlkin Now part of the Fernhill House hotel complex Fern Hill Smith records Cornelius Townshend as resident at Betsborough circa 1750 Hajba writes that it was a Townsend property from the early 18th century and birthplace of the United Irishman Thomas Russell executed in 1803 The house on the outskirts of the village of Drommahane was originally known as Bettesborough or Besborough and a Magner occupied a house of this name in 1837 The Reverend Philip Townsend held the house valued at 21 from William Magner in the early 1850s In June 1881 the house and demesne of Fernhill were advertised for sale Barclay Corrie was the owner holding on a lease dated 1863 from Richard John Perry to Michael Joseph Magnier The house was demolished in the early 20th century and a new house built on the site Ferney Ferney was the residence of Mrs Coote in 1814 and of J H Manley in 1837 Joseph Manly occupied the house valued at 68 at the time of Griffith s Valuation He held it from Sir William Chatterton This house is still extant Fiddaun Lodge In 1786 Wilson refers to Fidane as the seat of Mr Kelly Melvin writes that John Dennis the famous huntsman was born at Fiddaun in 1800 Charles O Rorke was leasing it from the Redington estate in the mid 1850s when the house was valued at almost 5 A house still exists at the site Finavarra House The home of the Skerrett family from the mid 18th century to the mid 19th century now a ruin Finisk Mill Denis Keily was leasing this property from the Power estate in 1850 when the house and mill had a combined valued of over 37 It is labelled Finisk Flour Mill on the First edition Ordnance Survey map and as Finisk Corn Mill on the later 1890s edition A creamery building later occupied the site Finisklin House or Seamount Built as a seaside residence of the Wood family though frequently leased by them to various other families In the mid nineteenth century it was the residence of Thomas Mostyn Wood and valued at 11 In the 1870s McTernan notes that it passed to the land agent Richard St George Robinson in whose family it remained until the early twentieth century It is still extant and has been restored Finned Tireragh At the time of Griffith s Valuation George Beatty or Beattie was leasing a house valued at 5 and almost 100 acres from the Tottenham estate McTernan states that he was referred to at the time of the Ordnance Survey as a middleman for a large amount of property Later the house passed by marriage to the Boyd family who sold it in the early twentieth century It is still extant and has been renovated Finned House In 1906 Sir Jocelyn Gore Booth owned buildings valued at 8 at Finned barony of Carbury This is likely to be Finned House This townland was the property of the Gore Booth estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation but the highest building valuation at that time was only 2 Finnis Thomas Gash was leasing offices from the Devonshire estate in 1851 when the buildings were valued at 11 A house and extensive farm buildings exist at the site now Finniterstown Mr Edmund Hogan was resident at Finniterstown in 1814 The Ordnance Survey Field Name book records the building of a 2 storey house at Finneterstown in 1833 and that it was occupied by William Fosberry circas 1840 Located on the St Leger estate this house was occupied by Frederick Maunsell in the early 1850s and was valued at 11 Finnoe Occupied by T Thomas Maunsell Waller in 1837 The Ordnance Survey Name Books describe Finnoe as a commodious house in 1840 Thomas son Edward Waller was the occupier at the time of Griffith s Valuation Edward held the property in fee and the house was valued at 30 A building is still located at this site Finnor House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Richard O Farrell Caddell was leasing a house valued at 8 at Finnor barony of Boyle to Michael Barrett It s labelled Finnor House on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s and a house still exists at the site Finuge House Rev Maurice Hewson was leasing this property to William M Hewson as the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 13 5s In 1837 Lewis notes it as the seat of W Hartnett Bary states that it was burnt in the early twentieth century and nothing now remains Firgrove Hogan writes that the building of Firgrove was begun by Thomas son of Thady O Halloran the diarist and completed by John MacMahon of Knockane John Peter Kelly took over the house from MacMahon In 1851 Eliza daughter of John Scott of Firgrove married George Fosbery of Clorane county Limerick The house was occupied by Charles Butler in the mid 19th century who held the property from John Kelly It was valued at 35 The house was demolished in the 1920s Firgrove At the time of Griffith s Valuation the representatives of Chambre Corker were leasing this property to Richard Quinn when it was valued at 18 In 1837 Lewis notes it as the seat of R Quin In 1906 it was held by the representatives of Mary Quinn and valued at 7 10s A house still exists at this site Firmount A Townsend family home occupied by Horace Townsend in 1837 and by William Coghlan at the time of Griffith s Valuation It was then valued at 14 10 shillings and was held from Horatio Townsend The sale rental of 1877 records a fee farm grant of Firmount from John Crewe Chetwood Townsend to Arthur Chute dated 1871 and a fee farm grant from Arthur Chute to J C C Townsend executed the following year A house is still extant at the site Firmount The seat of the Firman family in the late 18th century occupied by Thomas P Terman in 1814 The house is marked on the first edition Ordnance Survey map The Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to it as the mansion house of Firmount now falling into ruins It appears to be a ruin by the time of Griffith s Valuation The only buildings over 10 valuation were the Santa Cruise flour mill and house of Samuel Palmer The Irish Tourist Association surveyor records an extremely charming house converted from stabling at Firmount and occupied by Major H H Deasy in the early 1940s The surveyor states that the original house was destroyed by fire Firville A home of the Atkins family in the 18th and 19th centuries which in the early 1850s was held from John Clarke with 251 acres Major Atkins occupied the house in 1814 and R Atkins in 1837 Hajba writes that the Reverend Philip Atkins Going left Firville to his unmarried daughters Charlotte and Henrietta when he died in 1861 Hussey de Burgh records Mrs Charlotte Henrietta Atkins of South Mall Cork owning 502 acres in the 1870s Sold to Samuel Sheehan in 1914 this property still belonged to his descendants at the beginning of the 21st century Firville Leet lists a Robert McCarthy residing at a house called Fir ville Macroom in 1814 Lewis refers to Firville the newly erected mansion of Philip Harding Henry Harding was the occupier in the early 1850s holding the property from N D Murphy It was valued at 19 10 shillings The representatives of Henry Harding still owned Firville in the 1870s Firville passed to the Barry family through the marriage of Ellen Harding daughter of Henry Harding and Thomas Barry son of Michael Barry of Elm Park Farran county Cork land agent to Sir Riggs Falkiner In 1944 the Irish Tourist Association Survey noted that Firville was then the residence of F St Aubyn Horgan who had connections with the Channel Islands Firville is still extant and occupied Firville In 1841 the Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to Ferville as the residence of R F Drought William S Smith occupied the house in the mid 19th century which he held from Ralph Smith It was valued at 15 This building is still part of a farm complex Fisherhill Occupied by Major Blake in the early 19th century Fisherhill and the lands of Carheens were leased by Richard D Arcy of New Forest county Galway to Edward Cheevers of Killyan county Galway on 23 Mar 1858 In 1879 Robert Ireland advertised for sale his interest in Cheevers lease A C Larminie lived here in the late 19th century Now the home of the McGreal family Fishmoyne A junior branch of the Carden family lived at Fishmoyne from the mid 18th century Bence Jones writes that the house was built in the 19th century replacing the original house which was destroyed by fire Wilson writing in 1786 notes Fishmoynne as the seat of Mr Carden A Mrs Butler was resident in 1814 and R Minchin Carden in 1837 Richard Carden held the property in fee in the early 1850s when it was valued at 56 17 shillings This house remained the property of the Carden family until 1955 The Irish Tourish Association survey records the house as idle and locked up in the early 1940s Fishmoyne is no longer extant Fivemilebridge Mill House Joseph Coghlan was leasing this property to William Herrick at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it and the adjacent mill were valued at 53 The mill buildings are no longer visible on the 25 inch map of the 1890s The house is still extant Flanker House The Walsh estate including Drumsna House was advertised for sale in the Landed Estates Court in 1861 The sale notice describes the dwelling house as handsome and commodious with a large walled garden At the time of Griffith s Valuation Mary Anne Walsh was leasing the house valued at 22 from Josias Rowley The accompanying map indicates that it was called Flanker House In the 1870s several members of the Keogh family with an address at Flanker House Drumsna held property in county Roscommon Flaxfort Occupied by R Martin in 1837 and by Mary Anne Martin at the time of Griffith s Valuatioan The house was valued at 21 and held from John Purcell It is no longer extant Flaxfort House or Seaview House At the time of Griffith s Valuation William Scott was leasing this propert to Rev Robert Taylor when it was valued at almost 10 Lewis records it as the residence of Rev Robert Taylor PP in 1837 It is labelled Seaview House on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey Map but it had become known as Flaxfort House soon after Flesk Glenflesk Castle Daniel C Coltsmann was in possession of Flesk Castle at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 50 Lewis records it as the seat of J Coltsmann in 1837 Bary states that the house was also known locally as Glenflesk Castle or Coltsmann s Castle It was built in the early decades of the 19th century and continued in the Coltsmann family and their descendents until the early 20th century when it was sold to Major John McGillycuddy In 1943 the Irish Tourist Association survey noted that its tall fantastic turrets dominate the countryside It was then in the possession of Anthony McGillycuddy It had become ruinous by the end of the 20th century although there were some indications that it might be restored Flesk Cottage At the time of Griffith s valuation this house is recorded as part of the Herbert estate but was unoccupied It was valued at 24 at the time Lewis records it as the seat of Capain Godfrey in 1837 The Ordnance Survey Name Books record it as the residence of Arthur Saunders c 1840 Bary states that this house was frequently occupied by the Godfrey family The ruins are close to the Gleneagles hotel Flesk Lodge At the time of Griffith s Valuation Rev Richard Herbert was leasing a property to Rev Robert Hewson when it was valued at 6 10s Bary states that the latter is recorded as having died at Flesk Lodge in 1880 Since 1957 the site has been occupied by the Gleneagle hotel Flesk Priory The representatives of John Coxon were leasing Flesk Priory to Margaret Newman at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 26 In 1837 Lewis mentions it as the seat of J S Coxon Bary states that while O Donovan claimed it had been built in 1828 it is possible that it was erected in the 18th century Local tradition maintained that it was to provide accommodation for noble refugees from the French Revolution It was still extant at the end of the twentieth century Flintfield House This house was a seat of the Chinnery family from the mid 18th to the mid 19th century It was occupied by Barry Cotter in 1814 and by Denis O Connell in 1837 and at the time of Griffith s Valuation The buildings were valued at 18 and the property was held from John Orpen Home of the MacSweeneys in the 20th century Flower Hill Flower Hill was being leased by Magdalene Irwin from the Perceval estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 3 The Irwins had a modest house at this location and in the 1820s set about building a larger property Due to debt and court proceedings it was never finished and remains a roofless ruin Flower Hill Flower Hill was occupied by Anthony F Nugent at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 28 IN 1894 it was the residence of Charles Nugent Flower Hill is still extant and now operates as an equestrian centre See www flowerhill net Flowerhill House Waterford Flowerhill was leased by Nelson T Foley to Barry Drew in 1851 Lewis also refers to it as the seat of B Drew describing it as a beautiful residence in the cottage style The house is no longer extant Fohenagh Sir Henry Grattan Bellew dates this house from the 1830s In 1906 Norah Johnston was the owner of buildings valued at 10 at Fohenagh as well as over 500 acres of untenanted land Various members of the Johnston family had held lands in the area at the time of Griffith s Valuation mostly leased from the Hodson estate Buildings still remain at this site Forest House In 1750 William Spread was living at Forest and in the 1770s and 1780s Spread Esq is recorded as resident at Forest In 1814 Leet records this seat as unoccupied T Gollock was resident in 1837 and Thomas Gollock held the property in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 38 Slater records it as the seat of Rev T H Gollock in 1894 Forest was burnt in July 1921 just before the end of the War of Independence when it was the property of James Gollock and occupied by Lt Col Isaac Burns Ludlow The Irish Tourist Association survey refers to this in the 1940s as it having been burnt as a military precaution It is no longer extant Fort Anne An 18th century house that was in the possession of Robert Westropp eldest son of Poole and Mary Westropp by 1814 His son John who married Maria Macnamara was occuping the house in 1837 and their son Robert was resident in the mid 1850s Robert Westropp held the property in fee and the buildings were valued at 25 This house passed into the possession of the O Callaghan Westropp family It no longer exists Fort Anne The residence of S E Johnson in 1837 built by his father William The house was occupied by Richard Johnston in the early 1850s who held the it from the Reverend R Dickson who held the demesne in fee In 1906 this house valued at 13 15 shillings was occupied by William D Dickson The original house is no longer extant Fort Arthur Bartholemew Donovan was leasing this property from John Young Sandys in 1851 when it was valued at 7 It is labelled Fort Arthur on both the First and 25 inch edition Ordnance maps and is still extant Fort Browne By the mid 1850s the house was valued at 2 15s and was occupied by Margaret Burke It is now derelict Fort Edward Built post the first Ordnance Survey probably by a member of the Westropp family Occupied by Dr Patrick Cullinan at the time of Griffith s Valuation who held it from the Reverend John Gleeson The house is still inhabited and well maintained Fort Edward Fort Edward was the home of Edward Long from at least the mid 1830s and is referred to as his residence by the Ordnance Survey Name Books in 1840 At the time of Griffith s Valuation he held the property from Charles Bianconi and the buildings were valued at 19 Still extant and occupied Fort Elizabeth Occupied by John Cripps in 1814 and the residence of the Reverend John Croker in 1837 William Croker was the occupier at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was held from the representatives of James O Sullivan and valued at almost 16 A substantial farm remains at the site Fort Etna The home of the Peacock family in the 19th century although J Waller O Grady was resident in 1837 At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was occupied by Mrs Peacocke who held it from Charles Leslie valued at 30 Occupied by Edmund White in the 1870s Bence Jones records that it later became the home of the Reilly and Peart families The original house is now a ruin Fort Eyre At the time of Griffith s Valuation a property here owned by Reverend E Maunsell was being leased by Richard A H Kirwan and was valued at 42 The house is labelled Fort Eyre on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map It is still extant Fort Fergus A home of the Ross Lewin family in the 18th and early 19th centuries In 1786 Wilson refers to it as the seat of J RossLewin Occupied by Mr Evans in 1814 and by Daniel O Grady in 1837 and held by Major William Ball in fee in the 1850s when the buildings were valued at over 32 Bence Jones writes that Major Ball purchased Fortfergus in 1855 in the Encumbered Estates Court Weir writes that the house was burnt down in the 1920s The remaining staff quarters have been turned into a residence and the farm buildings are still in use Fort Grady Located on the O Grady Viscount Guillamore estate Fort Grady was valued at 14 in the mid 19th century and occupied by John O Connell In 1837 Lewis describes it as a farm house formerly the residence of the father of Viscount Guillamore In 1814 it was occupied by Mr Daniel McAuliffe In 1786 Wilson refers to it as Knockbrack the seat of Mr Gredy A house and farm are still extant at the site Fort Henry Fort Henry overlooking the Shannon River was the residence of Stephen Hastings in 1814 and of Finch White in 1837 Earlier in 1786 Wilson had also noted it as a Hastings residence At the time of Griffiths Valuation Finch White held the house from Stephen H Atkins It was valued at 28 15s Finch White was related to the Atkins through marriage with a member of the Gelston family In 1906 this house was in the possession of Frederick C Henry In 1840 however the Ordnance Survey Name Books had also noted that J J Henry was the proprietor It is still extant Fort Henry Greyfort Cottage Borrisokane In 1840 the Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to Fort Henry a commodious house the residence of Henry Ely in the townland of Greyfort parish of Borrisokane At the time of Griffith s Valuation Henry Ely was leasing a property valued at almost 5 from the Saunders estate in this townland This may refer to the property shown on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map as Greyfort House On the later 25 inch map of the 1890s it is known as Greyfort Cottage A house is still extant at the site Fort House This house near the town of Kilrush was the residence of John Trousdell in 1814 Occupied by Richard Studdert in the early 1850s who held the house valued at 7 and three acres from Brew Cox Donovan Weir writes that it was the agent s house for the Vandeleur estate at one time Fort House The residence of David Hartigan in the early 1850s held from William and Charles Wyse minors and valued at 13 Fort Laurel Patrick and Hugh Maguire were leasing over 60 acres from the Palmer estate at Ardogelly at the time of Griffith s Valuation Fort Laurel House was later built at this property It was renovated in the late twentieth century and is now a family home Fort Lodge John B Gumbleton was leasing this property to Richard Donovan at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 7 In 1837 Lewis noted it as the seat of R O Donovan It is now in ruins Fort Moylan Home of the Moylan family on the Egmont estate occupied by Cornelius Moylan at the time of Griffith s Valuation when the buildings were valued at 10 Still extant and occupied Fort Nisbitt Robert Nesbett was resident at Fort Nesbett in 1814 The Ordnance Survey Name Books also mention him in 1839 though they refer to Thomas Towers as the proprietor of the townland In the early 1850s Thomas O Brien was the occupier holding the property from the Reverend James Nesbitt The buildings were valued at 12 15 shillings A building is still located at this site Fort Prospect Clonakilty Reverend Benjamin Swete was leasing this property to Richard Wheeler at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 15 15s In 1837 Lewis notes it as the seat of R Wheeler It is still extant Fort Richard John Galway was leasing this house from the Roberts estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 16 It is recorded by Lewis as the seat of J Galway in 1837 A house is still extant at the site Fort Robert Kinneigh Described by Lewis in I837 as a handsome residence then occupied by Mrs O Connor In 1851 it was leased by George Fuller from Mary Longfield O Connor and valued at 18 By the mid 1860s it was in the possession of Thomas Kingston Sullivan The sale rental of 1867 records that Fort Robert had been allowed to get out of repair but is beautifully situated It appears to have become ruinous by 1890s The Irish Tourist Association Survey of 1944 stated that the ruin was the property of Judge Henry Connor and also that the house had been associated with Art O Connor United Irishman Fort William The Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to correspondence with John Cooke in the parish of Glenkeen in 1840 This house was occupied by Mrs Margaret Cooke in the mid 19th century and held from the Earl of Portarlington valued at 13 10 shillings John W Cooke was resident here in the 1870s Fort William is still extant and occupied Fort William A Parker residence in the early part of the 19th century In 1841 the Ordnance Survey Name Books referred to it as a splendid demesne and fine mansion house the residence of Mr Parker By the time of Griffith s Valuation Fort William was occupied by Miss Crawford who held the property from Messrs Egan The buildings were valued at 18 15 shillings The Egan sale rental of 1854 gives details of the original lease which was from Charles Egan to John Greene in 1769 for three lives renewable for ever The last renewal was dated 1803 from John Egan to William Crawford This house is still in use Fort William House Fort William was the residence of a branch of the Odell family in the 18th century Occupied by Reverend John Graves in 1814 Mrs Graves had a flour mill here in 1837 but T O Dell was living at Fort William The Ordnance Survey Name Book states that this house was formerly the residence of William Brown of Springmount at present occupied by a herdsman The residence of Richard D Power in the mid 19th century who held the property valued at 11 from John B Graves in Chancery The home of Goodricke Thomas Peacocke in the 1880s This house is still extant and occupied Fort William Kinalea Charles L Bernard held Fort William in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at almost 9 Lewis refers to it as the seat of William Penrose in 1837 Buildings remain at the site Fort William Fort Lyster A house on the outskirts of the village of Athleague it was the home of N J French in 1837 It was valued at 20 and was occupied by Henry West who held the property from Anne Lyster in the 1850s The house marked as Fort William on the first Ordnance Survey map later became known as Fort Lyster Still valued at 20 and occupied by the representatives of William Jameson in 1906 It was the home of Aileen Cust the first woman veterinary surgeon in the British Isles in the early 20th century Modern farm buildings occupy the site but the entrance gates remain Fortfield House Located close to Lisheen Castle occupied by H Lloyd in 1837 and by William Butler at the time of Griffith s Valuation William Butler was married to Catherine Lloyd and held Fortfield valued at 19 from his father in law John Lloyd Home of the Everard family since the mid 19th century see http www lisheencastle com page id 2 Forthill Cottage Lewis records a Burke family resident at Forthill in the parish of Kilbeacanty in 1837 By the time of Griffith s Valuation the holding was being leased by Michael Diviney from William Gregory The house was valued at 2 but was vacant at that time It is no longer extant Fortland Wilson writing in 1786 refers to Fortland pleasantly situated on the banks of the river Easky as the seat of Mr Browne It later passed to the Jones estate Both Leet in 1814 and Lewis in 1837 record it as a Jones property In the mid nineteenth century it was bought by Richard Graves Brinkley who was leasing it to John Wingfield King at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 14 It was offered for sale in the Landed Estates Court in 1874 when it was occupied by Mrs Charlotte Lloyd presumably a relative of Richard Brinkley s wife Hester Lloyd In 1906 it was the property of John L Brinkley and was valued at 39 McTernan notes that the house was afterwards damaged by fire and partially demolished Various buildings including substantial remains of an estate farmyard survive at this site Fortland The Jacksons held this property from the Pratts of Enniscoe It was described in the 1830s as a plain house ornamented with a few trees and scrubs At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was leased by George H Jackson from Mervyn Pratt when it was valued at 12 It is still extant ad now owned by Billy Cook Fortland Cottage Fortland Cottage was built on part of the Cullen estate in the 18th and was the home of Jane Cullen and her husband G Gledstanes in the mid nineteenth century Fortland House John Massy was leasing a building valued at 8 to John Rutherford here in 1856 This is Fortland House which is still extant and occupied Fortlands Fortlands was occupied by members of the Batwell family in the first half of the 19th century Hajba writes that the Batwells held the property from the Hutchins family By the mid 19th century Samuel Hutchins was occupying the house held by him in fee and valued at

    Original URL path: http://www.landedestates.ie/LandedEstates/jsp/property-list.jsp?letter=F (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Landed Estates Database
    edition Ordnance Survey map but appears as Glenbrook Cottage on the 25 inch edition of the 1890s It is still extant and occupied Local sources suggest that the original house dates to the seventeenth century and that the Holmes family called it Clydeingrove Glenburn Glenburn was occupied by A Lewis in 1837 and was held in fee by John T C Gibbings at the time of Griffith s Valuation The buildings were valued at 20 15 shilllings Glencairn Abbey Glencairn was held in fee by Jervis Gervase P Bushe in 1851 when it was valued at 51 The property had previously been part of a Gumbleton estate firstly as Ballygarron Castle and later in the eighteenth century a house known as Castlerichard Wilson records it under this name in 1786 describing it as the beautiful seat of Mr Gumbleton Its name was changed to Glencairn Abbey c 1814 when it was substantially altered and extended by Richard Edward Gumbleton Following his death in 1819 it passed to his brother in law Henry A Bushe in whose family it remained until the 1880s It became a Power property following the marriage of Frances Bushe and Ambrose Power of Barrettstown county Tipperary It was owned by the representatives of Gervase Bushe in 1906 and valued at 31 The Powers continued to occupy Glencairn until 1922 It was purchased by the Cistercian Order in 1926 and has been home to the Cistercian Sisters since The substantial steward s house and farmyard X009983 is now the home of the Barry family who provide guest accommodation there In 1906 it was also held by Bushe s representatives and valued at 12 Glencalry Lodge Described as a neat shooting lodge at the time of the first Ordnance Survey It was in the possession of George Bartlett by the time of Griffith s Valuation By the 1870s Glencalry belonged to Colonel William F Smyth of St Heliers Jersey A building is still extant at the site Glencar Lewis refers to Glencar as the seat of R Newton in 1837 Glencar Hotel John Breen was leasing a house valued at 7 5s along with almost 200 acres from the Landsdowne estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation On the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s the building in this townland is labelled Glencar Hotel which is still the name it is known by today The hotel history indicates the property may initially been used as a hunting lodge for the Landsdowne estate See www glencarhouse com Glencarha The Ordnance Survey Names Books record that the house was a new edifice not yet finished the intended residence of George Fenton an attorney of Kilglass near Ballina who was leasing the townland The house was occupied by Isaac McLoghry at the time of Griffith s Valuation Buildings are still extant at the site Glencarne House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Samuel Handy was leasing a house valued at 18 at Ardcarne barony of Boyle from Viscount Lorton s estate Glencarne is now a guesthouse Glencollins Lower A model farm was located in this townland in the mid 19th century held by the Commissioners of Woods and Forests from the Crown The buildings were valued at 20 In the 1940 the Irish Tourist Association Survey stated that this property had been occupied by Michael Bryan who was Clerk of Works for the building of the village and that the Dunscombe family had also lived there at times By the 1940s it had become the property of the O Connell family Parts of this complex are still extant Glencolumbkille House This was an O Brien home from at least the late 18th century In 1837 Lewis described Columbkill Cottage as the neat residence of Terence O Brien esq Griffith s Valuation records Mary Anne O Brien the widow of Terence as the occupier holding the property from John Kirwan The buildings were valued at over 10 In the 1870s Morty O Brien of Glencolumbkille owned 396 acres in county Clare This is house is no longer extant Glenconnor This house also know as Larchfield was built by Solomon Watson at the end of the 18th century as a dower house for Summerville Bence Jones Leet records Larchfield as unoccupied in 1814 J Bagwell was resident at Glenconnor in 1837 and Pierce Gough in the early 1850s when the house was valued at 23 10 shillings Alderman William Byrne of Clonmel was resident here in the 1870s Additions were made to the house in the 1880s and it was owned by a Colonel George Elliot in the early 20th century who sold it in 1938 to H J Cleeve Glencorran In 1851 Richard Fuge was leasing this property from Lord Decies estate when it was valued at 23 A building to which alterations have been made still exists at the site Glencorrib Home of Robert Dillon Browne and later of the O Higgins family the house is now demolished At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was held in fee by George O Higgins MP and valued at 12 Glencurragh Rev Maurice Townsend was leasing this property to Daniel McCarthy at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 19 15s It does not appear on the 1st edition Ordnance Map but is labelled as Glencurragh on the later 25 inch map A house remains at the site though substantial modern development has taken place in the area Glendarary House On the island of Achill in possession of the Pike family for at least 100 years At the time of Griffith s Valuation William Pike was leasing it from the Marquis of Sligo s estate when the house was valued at 18 Glendollagh House At the time of Griffith s Valuation this property was leased by John J Strutzer from the Law Life Assurance Society and valued at 25 A house is still extant at the site Glendoneen Jeremiah Roberts was leasing this property to Rev John Stoytt at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 45 Lewis refers to Glendoneen as the seat of Rev J Stoyte in 1837 It is still extant and occupied Glenduff Castle This house was the residence of Jones Stavelly in 1814 Lewis records R J Stevelly as the occupier of Glanduff Castle under the parish of Newcastle and Eyre Massy under the parish of Monagay Eyre Massy was residing at Glanduff valued at 38 in the early 1850s Glanduff Castle was a residence of the Ievers of Mount Ievers county Clare in the late 19th century as Slater notes it as a residence of James Butler Ievers Burnt in 1922 this house is now a ruin Glenduff House Robert Conway Hurley was leaing this property to John Hurley at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 5 15s In 1906 it was the property of John C Hurley and valued at 10 15s Bary writes that the Hurley family owned Bridge House in Tralee but also retained Glenduff House as their country estate The house remained in the Hurley family until it was sold in the early twentieth century It has been extensively renovated and is now a guesthouse Gleneask Lodge Cottage At the time of Griffith s Valuation John Brett was leasing over 500 acres and a herd s house valued at 4 from John Taaffe at Tullaghaglas barony of Leyny Lewis records Glenesk in Kilmacteige parish as a seat of the Taaffe family in 1837 This is Gleneask Cottage still extant and occupied McTernan indicates that this property was built by the Irish Waste Lands Improvement Society when they leased the Taaffe estate in the 1830s In 1866 when the property was offered for sale Gleneask House was described as being situated in most romantic scenery McTernan writes that this latter property was a hunting lodge built by the Taaffes in the 1850s and demolished in the 1930s Glenefy Gleneefy Built for George L Bennett by Charles Frederick Anderson see http www dia ie works view 256 The house is named on the first Ordnance Survey map as Gleneefy but on the later 25 inch map as Glenefy In 1837 Castlecreagh was the residence of G Bennett and at the time of Griffith s Valuation Castlecreagh valued at 26 was held by George L Bennett in fee In 1906 occupied by William H M Bennett and still valued at 26 It is still extant Glenfarne Hall Glenfarne Hall overlooking Lough MacNean was built around 1820 for Charles Henry Tottenham In 1906 it was owned by Col J G Adamson and was valued at 50 It was subsequently a holiday home of Edward Harland of Harland Wolf shipyards in Belfast The 1943 Irish Tourist Association survey recorded that only the gutted ruins of the house remained The area has been extensively afforested since then and is now part of a forest park owned by Coillte Glenfield House In 1906 Major P Chute owned a property at Ballygarret barony of Corkaguiny valued at 35 10s At the time of Griffith s Valuation this townland was in the possession of Nathaniel Bland The house does not appear on the First Edition Ordnance Survery map but is labelled Glenfield House on the later 25 inch edition of the 1890s In 1894 Slater noted it as the seat of Captain Thomas Chute The original house is no longer extant Glengarra Occupied by Robert Dring in the early 1850s valued at 25 and held from Robert Uniacke Still extant and occupied Glengarriff Castle Sarah White was leasing this property from the Bantry estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at almost 36 In 1837 Lewis described it as Glengarriff Castle the seat of Captain White is a spacious elegant mansion Local sources suggest the Castle was built in the 1790s by Simon White a brother of the 1st Earl of Bantry Noted by Leet as the seat of Simon White in 1814 In 1894 Slater refers to it as the seat of R H E White It functioned as a resort until the 1970s Plans are currently in progress to restore the building Glengarriff Lodge Held in fee by the Earl of Bantry s estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 9 The house was a specially designed hunting lodge for the Bantry estate It remained in the estate s ownership until the 1940s Though badly damaged by fire in the 1960s it has been completely renovated and now serves as luxury self catering accommodation See www glengarriff lodge com Glengarriff or Eccles Hotel Thomas Eccles was leasing this property from the Earl of Bantry s estate in 1852 when it was valued at 21 It is labelled on the 1st Edition Ordnance Survey Map as Glengarriff Hotel but is better known now as the Eccles Hotel one of Ireland s oldest hotels In April 1875 following the death of Thomas Eccles the hotel was offered for sale in the Landed Estates Court A detailed history is available at www eccleshotel com Glenglassera Glenlossera Lodge At the time of Griffith s Valuation held by Zachary Mudge in fee and valued at 4 In 1894 Slater refers to it as the seat of A Mudge Buildings still remain at the site Glenlicky Mill At the time of Griffith s Valuaton Rev James Elliott was leasing this substantial property to Thomas Page when it was valued at 44 It included a house and mill Noted on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey Map of the later nineteenth century as Glenlicky Mill The buildings are now ruinous Glenlo A house called Kentville was occupied by the Martin family in the late 18th century though Wilson mentions a Mr Irwin living there in 1786 By 1824 Thomas Redington was occupying Glenlo which became the home of Thomas Blake in the mid 19th century and of the Palmers in the late 19th century Now functions as a hotel Glenmore At the time of the first Ordnance Survey Glenmore was occupied by the Rev St George Knox curate of Crossmolina as the Ormes were living in Dublin Glenmore became the property of Godfrey Fetherstonhaugh after the 1853 sale His mother was an Orme of Abbeytown Well maintained and owned by a French family who advertised the sale of the house in September 2006 Glenmore House Lismore At the time of Griffith s Valuation Thomas Boyce was leasing this property to Richard Cliffe when it was valued at 24 A very substantial farmyard is labelled at this site on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey Map It is labelled Glenmore House on the later 25 inch edition It is still extant and occupied Glennagloughaun North A building valued at 12 was occupied by Digby French at the time of Griffith s Valuation this may have been the old charter school marked on the first Ordnance Survey map The latter building appears to have fallen into disuse by the 1890s and the site is now occupied by a farm supply stores Glenomera Glenomera was the seat of the Arthur family from the mid 17th century until the early 20th century In 1786 Wilson refers to Ballyquin as the fine seat of Mr Arthur It is labelled Ballyquin House on the 1st edtion Ordnance Survey map but as Glenomera on the later 25 inch edition Lewis wrote in 1837 that Glenomera was celebrated as a shooting station for grouse and pheasant It was held in fee by Thomas Arthur at the time of Griffith s Valuation and valued at 35 The house is now demolished Glenshelane Cottage Leased by Sir Richard Keane to John Keane in 1851 when it was valued at 14 The 1855 sale notice describes it as a handsome cottage Later in the possession of Justin Deane Freeman and leased to Thomas Haly Offerd for sale in the Landed Estates Court in February 1864 when the owner was Charles St John Herbert and the petitioner Maria Deane Freeman The house is still extant and occupied Glenstal Described by Bence Jones as a massive Norman Revival castle built for the Barrington family The building began in 1837 but was not completed until the 1880s Noted by Slater as the seat of Sir Charles Burton Barrington in 1894 The buildings were valued at 65 in the early 1850s and at 58 in 1906 Now known as Glenstal Abbey it is a boys boarding school run by the Benedictine monks who bought the property from the Barringtons in 1927 Glenstown Leased by Johanna Cormack from Lord Waterford s estate in 1850 when it was valued at almost 14 A farm exists at the site now Glenturk Lodge Noone writes that this lodge was built circa 1860 and was also known as Glencullen Lodge Glenview Samuel Levis was leasing this property from the Becher estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 18 10s A house still exists at the site Glenview George Courtenay is recorded as resident at Glen View in 1814 and also in the early 1850s when he held the property from James H Smith Barry The buildings were valued at 9 In 2010 it was offered for sale Glenview Glenview was occupied by the Reverend Edmund Prendergast in the early 1850s He held the house valued at 18 15 shillings from Matthew Prendergast In the early 20th century the house was altered and extended by a religious order who set up a school Glenview Stradbally At the time of Griffith s Valuation Rev Thomas Drought was leasing a property valued at 14 from Frederick Carter This may be the house which afterwards became known as Glenview It is still extant and well maintained Glenview Cottage In 1786 Wilson refers to a house in the vicinity of Egmont as Glenfield the seat of Mr Wrixon This may be the property marked on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map as Glenview Cottage At the time of Griffith s Valuation this house was leased by Daniel Murphy from the Egmont estate and valued at 10 A house is still extant at the site Glenview Comeragh house B In 1851 Rev William Ardagh was leasing a property adjacent to Comeragh House from the Palliser estate when it was valued at almost 10 A house and farm buildings are still extant at the site Walford gives Rev Ardagh s address as Glenview which may refer to this house Glenview Glenamara This house is labelled on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey Map of the 1890s as Glenview It is possibly the property leased by Rev Thomas Drought from Frederick Carter at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 14 It seems to have become known as Glenamara in the twentieth century during which time it came into the possession of the Spring Rice family who offered it for sale in 2011 Glenville The Earl of Clancarty was leasing a house valued at 12 in Cahercrea East to Margaret Daly in 1855 This house is still extant and now known as Glenville In the adjoining townland of Ballycoony Clancarty was leasing a house valued at 4 as well as 118 acres to John Hardy Glenville The Massys lived at Glenville from the 1760s The present house was built by William Massy in 1808 William Massey was resident in 1814 J Massey in 1837 and William Massy in the early 1850s William Massy held the house valued at almost 14 from Stephen Creagh The house came into the possession of the Langford family relations of the Massys in the early 20th century and they were still resident there in the 1970s Glenville Richard Robinson was leasing this property to Nicholas Bowen at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 11 In 1837 Lewis noted it as the seat of R B Robinson It is now a farm guesthouse Glenville At the time of Griffith s Valuation Mary Allen occupied Glenvillle a house valued then at 8 The property was held from the Earl of Egmont Catherine Cooke daughter of William Allen of Glenville married John Bevan of Camas in 1856 Hajba writes that Glenville belonged to Massy Bevan in the late 19th century The house was restored in the 20th century and is occupied Glenville Originally a Coppinger property sold to the Hudsons in the mid to late 18th century The Hudsons built a new house and this house was added too in 1887 E G Hudson was resident at Glenville in 1814 and Lewis records the Reverend E G Hudson as the proprietor of Mount Pleasant in the parish of Ardnageehy in 1837 In the mid 19th century William E Hudson held the property valued at 46 in fee Inherited by William E Hudson s nephew Sir Edward Hudson Kinahan who was the occupier in 1906 when the house was valued at 150 Sold to the Bence Jones family in 1949 Also known as Mount Prospect and The Manor this house was the home of Mark Bence Jones author Glenville In 1848 John Greene was leasing this property from the Power estate when it was valued at 46 Glenville Cottage Gaultiere At the time of Griffith s Valuation this property was occupied by Captain P C Lamphiere leasing from the Fitzgerald estate It was valued at 17 at the time It is labelled Glenville Cottage on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey Map of the 1890s but as Cove Cottage on the 1940s edition A house is still extant at the site Glenwilliam A house built in 1797 by the Reverend William Massy second son of the Reverend Godfrey Massy Occupied by George Massy in 1814 The residence of Mary Anne Massy at the time of Griffith s Valuation held from the Court of Chancery and valued at 38 In the later 19th century it was the home of the Atkinson family Slater noted it as the seat of Thomas D Atkinson in 1894 This house is still extant and occupied Glenwilliam The residence of James Blake Butler in 1837 Occupied by John McNamara in the early 1850s and held from Lord Fitzgerald and Vesci when it was valued at almost 5 Still extant and occupied Glenwilliam Decies In 1851 Reverend Garrett Prendergast was leasing this property from Richard Fuge when it was valued at 15 Local sources suggest Reverend Prendergast was the parish priest of Ardmore during and after the Famine A house and substantial farm still exist at Glenwilliam Glenwood Weir records Poole Gabbett in residence in 1810 Basil Davoren occupied the house in 1837 and John Gabbett at the time of Griffith s Valuation He held it from George Studdert and it was valued at 10 Alice Studdert married General Frederick Maunsell and they lived at Glenwood which passed to their son Robert Maunsell This house was the scene of an ambush in which eight Black and Tans were killed in 1920 The house no longer exists Glenwood Marked on the first Ordnance Survey map this house was occupied and held in fee by Teulon at the time of Griffith s Valuation when the buildings were valued at 23 By 1906 Glenwood valued at 33 was occupied by A C Fleury a minor In the 1940s the Irish Tourist Association survey noted that it was then the home of Mrs Pennefather mother of the famous artist who came to live here about twenty years ago Glenwood is still extant Glenwood Lodge Richard Harding Wigmore occupied a house flour mill and lodge valued at 30 at this location in the mid 19th century He held the property from Henry Wigmore Glin Castle The home of the Knights of Glin built in the 1780s and later castellated it is situated on the Shannon estuary Wilson refers to it in 1786 as Glyn House the pleasant seat of Mr Fitzgerald In the early 1850s it was valued at 50 The castle is still in the possession of the family but in 2015 was offered for sale Glinny House George Dunne was leasing Glinny House from Thomas Daunt at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 25 Lewis refers to it as the seat of G N Dunne in 1837 The Daunt family also owned Glinny Cottage W669595 in the same townland then valued at 8 and occupied by Elizabeth Walsh Though altered Glinny House is still extant Glinsk House In 1786 Wilson refers to Glinsk as the seat of the late Sir John Burke and also as the seat of Sir Rickby Burke Glinsk Castle and a substanial house are both marked on the 1838 Ordnance Survey map The castle is shown on the 25 inch map of the 1890s but there is no trace of the house At the time of Griffith s Valuation Allen Pollok held buildings valued at 1 15 at the site recorded as a herd s house Gloves Athenry The Ordnance Survey Name Books record Gloves as the residence of Mr Browne in the 1830s At the time of Griffith s Valuation Mark Loughnane held the townland of Gloves Middle barony of Athenry including buildings valued at almost 8 By 1906 Michael J Monaghan was the owner of this property Buildings are still extant at the site Glyntown House Unoccupied in the early 1850s this house was held by Eliza McCaul from William B Hoare It was valued at 35 Bence Jones writes that this house now demolished was built by Samuel McCall and was owned in the 20th century by the Dring family Golden Bush A house located between Inishannon and Kinsale which was in the possession of the Wilmot family in the 1770s and 1780s In 1814 Leet noted it as the seat of William H Herrick and it was occupied by Thomas Herrick at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 5 Gibson had noted it as the residence of Henry Sheares in the 1760s Golden Hills Leet records Henry White as the proprietor of Goldenville Golden in 1814 In 1837 Lewis refers to Golden Hills as the castellated residence of H White Edmond Edward Dalton occupied this house in the early 1850s holding it from Henry White It was valued at 25 By 1858 Thomas Judkin Fitzgerald was occupying Golden Hills or Golden Lodge which was advertised for sale in January 1858 and again in April 1878 In 1878 Golden Hills was described as a large castellated building with a drawing room opening into a conservatory dining room and morning room 8 bedrooms and a servants hall The Irish Tourist Association surveyor records that it was the residence of Thomas Judkin Fitzgerald High Sheriff of county Tipperary in 1798 known as Flogging Fitzgerald In the early 1940s most of the house had disappeared or was incorporated into a modern farmyard Goleen House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Alicia Notter was leasing this property to Jeremiah McCarthy when it was valued at 7 In 1837 Lewis had noted it as the seat of J McCarthy Grid Reference is approximate Goolamore Lodge Described at the time of the first Ordnance Survey as a new two storey house occupied by Mr Gallagher who rented the salmon fishery It was leased by John Walsh to Patrick McAndrew at the time of Griffith s Valuation It is no longer extant Gooldshill At the time of Griffith s Valuation Henry Goold was leasing land in the parish of Mallow to Michael Jones Gooldshill was occupied by Edmund Roche who held the house and 7 acres from Michael Jones The buildings were valued at 12 Hajba writes that this house is now derelict Gort A home of the O Kellys in the mid 18th century Occupied by Doyle esquire in 1778 and 1786 and by Simon J Dowell in 1814 The house is labelled Gort on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map but is not named on the 25 inch edition of the 1890s The townland was in the possession of Elizabeth Dowell at the time of Griffith s Valuation when she was leasing a house valued at 4 10s to Michael Kelly Some ruins exist at the site now Gort House Margaret O Brien was leasing a house valued at 15 in the townland of Gortnalamph from the Clements estate in the 1850s Gort House is still extant and occupied Gortaglanna House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Hibernicus Scott senior was leasing this property to Hibernicus Scott junior when it was valued at 34 10s Lewis records it as the seat of Maj M Scott in 1837 It is still extant and occupied Gortaha House Cuthbert Featherston held a property valued at 10 in the townland of Gortaha parish of Lickmolassy barony of Longford in 1856 It is labelled Gortaha House on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey Map The 25 inch map of the 1890s records that it was in ruins and very little now remains Gortahilly William Power was leasing this property from Lord Fortescue s estate in 1848 when it was valued at over 16 A farm still occupies the site Gortahorna House Mrs Eliza Sealy held this property in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 32 Lewis notes it as the seat of J M Sealy in 1837 In 1906 it was owned by John Hungerford Sealy when buildings were valued at 8 A nearby flour mills named Barleyfield Mills W508485 was leased to William Sullivan and valued at 13 In 1942 the Irish Tourist Association Survey noted that it had bee rebuilt after being burnt but by the 1940s the roof had been removed and the slates used for housing schemes The house is now a ruin The mill continued to be worked until the mid twentieth century and the building is still extant Gortakeeran John A Daly owned buildings valued at almost 8 at Gortakeeran in 1906 At the time of Griffith s Valuation this townland was owned by John B Daly including a herd s house valued at 15s Gortanimill House In the mid 19th century this house was the residence of Herbert Baldwin MD and held by him in fee valued at 24 It was included in the proposed sale of Herbert Baldwin O Sullivan s estate in 1889 when the sale notice described it as an excellent residence in very good repair In 1944 the Irish Tourist Association survey refers to it as formerly the residence of Dr Baldwin now occupied by Mr Lynch NT This house is now demolished Gortdrishagh House The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage indicates that this house was built in the latter part of the nineteenth century At the time of Griffith s Valuation James O Connor was leasing offices and land at Gortdrishagh from the Law Life Assurance Company Gorteen The residence of Patrick O Beirne by 1837 and of Anne O Beirne at the time of Griffith s Valuation who held the house from Patrick Grehan It was valued at 8 The original house is no longer extant Gortigrenane House At the time of Griffith s Valuation this house was being leased by Anthony Savage from the Staughton estate when it was valued at 40 Lewis refers to it as the seat of Luke Shea in 1837 Thomas A Staughton owned a second property in this townland W777575 valued at 10 and leased to David Drinan Gortigrenane had originally been a Daunt property which came to Staughton through marriage with Mary Daunt of Owlpen Gloucestershire It is believed to have been remodelled in 1817 See www owlpen com The house was destroyed during the War of Independence In 1942 the Irish Tourist Association Survey described it as formerly the residence of L Shea a noted smuggler and then in the possession of the Kingstons It is now a ruin Gortkelly Castle The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage dates this house from circa 1800 It is a five bay house with three storeys Gortkelly House is marked on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map as a relatively small house but had increased in size by the end of the 19th century when named Gortkelly Castle Gortkelly was the home of the Ryan family from the mid 18th century John Ryan was resident in 1814 In the mid 19th century the house was held from Peter Graham Grehan by Andrew Ryan and was valued at 6 5 shillings It is now a ruin Gortmaloon James Breen was leasing a house valued at 8 15s along with 500 acres from the Landsdowne estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation The building is no longer extant Gortmore At the time of Griffith s Valuation Rev Isaac Seale was leasing this property from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners when it was valued at 13 15s In 1840 the Ordnance Survey Field Name Books indicate that Lord Ventry had given this property for use as a missionary clergyman s residence The house is still extant Gortmore The sale rental states that Robert Biggs built this house for about 800 in the mid 19th century It is not marked on the first edition Ordnance Survey map Griffith s Valuation records Samuel Biggs as the occupier of the house valued at 11 and held from Edward Biggs The sale rental of November 1867 advertised the sale of a valuable leasehold the estate of Samuel and Robert Biggs at Gortmore 222 acres and dwelling house The 22 2 acre estate of Samuel Biggs at Gortmore was sold to John Samuel Clarke the petitioner in November 1867 for 650 The Irish law times and solicitors journal Volume 1 1868 Page 679 A house is still located at this site Gortmore Cottage At the time of Griffith s Valuation Gortmore Cottage was occupied by Roger O Callaghan leasing from Reverend Phillip Townsend when the house was valued at 11 In the 1940s the Irish Tourist Association Survey noted that the original house had burnt down in 1911 and a two storey house was then occupying the site Gortmore House A late 18th century or early 19th century two storey house the home of the Foote family in the 19th century Occupied by Mr Thomas Clarke in 1814 by Edward Foote in 1837 and at the time of Griffith s Valuation He held the house and demesne from Viscount Lismore It is labelled Gortmore Castle on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map but as Gortmore House on the later 25 inch edition of the 1890s It is still extant Gortna House This house was located close to the shore of the River Shannon and is marked on the first edition Ordnance Survey map and the later 25 inch map as Gortna House Lewis records H Franks as resident at Shannon View in the parish of Templeachally Henry Franks occupied a house valued at 12 and held from Stephen H Atkins at the time of Griffith s Valuation Henry Franks was married to Elizabeth daughter of Ringrose Atkins There are still buildings at this location Gortnagappul This area is marked as the farmyard of Aghadoe House on the first Ordnance Survey map At the time of Griffith s Valuation a house and offices valued at 28 were held by Roger G Davis from Richard Uniacke Bailey A large farm complex exists at the site now Gortnamona In the early years of the 19th century Gortnamona was the residence of Giles Eyre It had originally been a Burke house but became part of the Blake estate in the mid 19th century when Valentine Blake married Anne Burke Lewis records it as the seat of Patrick Blake in 1837 He was also resident there at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 25 It is still extant but in need of repair Gortnaraby Gortnor Abbey Ruane dates this house to the mid 18th century In 1786 Wilson refers to it as the seat of Mr Ormsby At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was leased from John Ormsby by an individual named Connop and valued at 25 In 1916 it was taken over by the Order of Jesus and Mary and now functions as a secondary school Gortnarup A Joyce residence at the beginning of the 19th century Gortnarup House is marked on the first edition Ordnance Survey map Gortnascreeny House Lewis notes Gortnascree House parish of Caheragh as the residence of A O Driscoll in 1837 At the time of Griffith s Valuation the property was being leased by Thomas Goggin from the Becher estate and had a value of 4 10s In 1906 a property valued at 10 and owned by Sir John Becher was reported at Gortnadrohid but there is no townland with this name in Caheragh parish There is still an extant house at this site Gortnaskarry Cottage Colonel Drummond was leasing a property valued at almost 5 to John Breen at the time of Griffith s valuation It is labelled Gortnaskarry Cottage on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey and remains by this name on subsequent editions A house and farm are still extant at the site Gortnaskarry House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Michael Horgan was leasing a property at Gortnaskarry valued at 5 from the representatives of Denis Mahony Bary speculates that it may once have been an inn It is still extant Gortrevagh A village is marked at Gortrevagh on the first Ordnance Survey map but on the revised edition of 1898 1899 the village is gone and a substanial building is marked instead This may have been the residence of Edmund O Flaherty Some older buildings are included in what is now the golf club complex Gortroe Lodge At the time of Griffith s Valuation Gortroe Lodge was being leased by John Morrogh Bernard from John C O Riordan

    Original URL path: http://www.landedestates.ie/LandedEstates/jsp/property-list.jsp?letter=G (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Landed Estates Database
    Ordnance Survey Name Books mention it as the residence of Morris McCarty At the time of Griffith s Valuation Daniel McCarthy was leasing the property to Francis Mayberry when it was valued at 3 In 1906 it was the property of Daniel McCartie and valued at 6 5s It is now in ruins Headfort Headford At the time of the first Ordnance Survey the property at Headford was described as belonging to S White non resident property going into decay In the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries it was a seat of the Jones family Wilson perhaps incorrectly refers to it as the seat of Mr Johnston in 1786 The house was immortalised by Anthony Trollope in his novel The McDermotts of Ballycloran The ITA survey of the 1940s recorded it as in ruins and it remains as an ivy covered ruin today It was pointed out for this survey as the ruins of that auld Ballycloran Castle Heapstown At the time of Griffith s Valuation James McTernan owned the house at Heapstown valued at 3 but part of a land holding of 100 acres Lewis had recorded Heapstown as the seat of Martin Manning in 1837 In 1906 Heapstown was valued at 15 McTernan states that this was the house built after the Famine by Hugh McTernan This house was eventually demolished in the 1950s Hearnesbrook The property at Hearnesbrook was occupied by George Hearn Kirkaldy at the time of Griffith s Valuation It was also recorded as his residence by Lewis in 1837 In 1814 Hearnsbrook was the residence of Major Lyons Slater notes it as the seat of A J Mackay in 1894 In 1783 Taylor and Skinner and Wilson in 1786 recorded it as a seat of the Hearn family In 1885 Walford refers to William Clifford Bermingham Ruthven as of Hearnesbrooke It is still extant and occupied and is the focus of a large farming enterprise Heathburn Hall George Daunt held this property in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 35 The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage notes that it was later associated with the Shaw familiy who made additions to the house in the early twentieth century In the 1940s the Irish Tourist Association Survey noted it a the residence of Mr Bateman There is still an extant property at the site Heathfield Rev William Bourke was leasing Heathfield from the Palmer estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 16 Slater notes Heathfield House as the seat of Major W H Bourke in 1894 In 1927 the Bourkes moved to county Meath and the house was sold to the Brices who owned it until 1932 Some ruins of the original house remain Heathfield Patrick Balfe was leasing the property at Heathfield valued at 36 to John Butler at the time of Griffith s Valuation Lewis records Heathfield as the seat of Nicholas Balfe It was also his seat in 1814 Gormley states that this house was originally known as Belgard Lodge and was part of the estate of Thomas Dillon of Belgard Castle county Dublin Richard Irwin of Fernhall acted as his agent in Roscommon By 1830 the Heathfield estate was owned by Patrick Balfe and by the 1850s it was occupied by the Butler family originally of Cherryfield Elphin They continued to occupy the house until the 1940s The house is still extant Heathfield Sligo The house at this site was built c 1890 presumably replacing an earlier house listed in Griffith s Valuation when it was being leased by William Phibbs from the Cooper of Markree estate At that time it was valued at 6 In 1906 it was owned by Thomas Randle Phibbs and was valued at 22 This later house survives and has been offered for sale in recent years Ruins of gatelodge and gated entrance visible at G656219 Heathfield House Located on the Warren estate this house was occupied by Edward Lloyd circa 1840 and in the early 1850s who held it along with 609 acres Still in Lloyd occupation in the 1970s This house was offered for sale in 2010 Heathfield Towers Captain Cotter was resident at Heathfield in 1837 This house was unoccupied at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 8 10 shillings The immediate lessors were the representatives of Walter Maguire and Mary Giles It was later the home of the Reverend Pierse Drew who was in residence in the 1870s Heathlawn At the time of Griffith s Valuation Heathlawn house valued at 31 was occupied by George Saunderson In 1837 Lewis records it as the seat of M Monahan Slater in 1846 also notes it as the seat of Michael Monaghan In 1906 it was the property of James H Monahan In 1783 Taylor and Skinner and Wilson writing in 1786 noted Heathlawn as a seat of the Hamilton family It is no longer extant Heathview This house is marked on the first edition Ordnance Survey map as Liskeveen House Luke Bray was the proprietor of Liskeveen in 1814 A vacant house valued at 14 18 shillings was in the possession of Samuel M Going at the time of Griffith s Valuation A new house located slightly to the south of the original house was built circa mid 19th century This is the house known as Heathview occupied by Samuel M Going s daughter Margaret and her husband Owen Lloyd Mansergh in the late 19th century Heathview House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Christopher Usher was leasing buildings including a mill valued at 25 to William Usher in the townland of Kilgerrill barony of Clonmacnowen Earlier in 1837 The Lodge in the parish of Kilgerrill was recorded by Lewis as the seat of William Usher Described by the Ordnance Survey Name Books as in good repair it was then the residence of J Usher A house still exists at the site Helen Park Oliver Latham was residing at Helen Park in 1814 and in the mid 19th century Reverend Martin Laffan Parish Priest of Killenaule was the occupant He held the property from Patrick Waldron and the buildings were valued at 22 15 shillings Helen Park is listed as one of the residences of Lawrence Waldron in the 1870s Still extant and occupied Hemmings Ville The representatives of Robert Seymour were leasing a house valued at 6 and almost to 250 acres to Sidney Smith in 1855 This property is labelled Hemming s Ville on both the First and 25 inch editions of the Ordnance Survey maps There is still an extant house at the site Hermitage Lewis records the Lloyd family occupying a second house called Hermitage also located in the townland of Croghan Buildings still exist at the site Hermitage Built by Charles O Conor 1710 1790 the antiquarian and head of the family circa 1760 His great great grandson Charles O Conor was leasing the property at Ballaghcullia valued at 10 to Honoria O Conor at the time of Griffith s Valuation In 1749 the Census of Elphin records Denis O Conor as being of Ballinagar The house at Hermitage is still extant though not occupied and a modern bungalow has been constructed in front of it Hermitage Another Keane residence near the town of Ennis occupied by Francis Keane who held it from Marcus Keane at the time of Griffith s Valuation In July 1857 Jonathon Gregg advertised the sale of the head rent of Hermitage and the surrounding 13 acres Hermitage was advertised for sale again in October 1860 with 75 acres of town parks the estate of Christopher Plunkett Dorothea Tottenham was the tenant The sale rental records Francis Nathaniel Keane as the tenant Hermitage was sold in the 20th century by the Keanes and was the property of John and Dorothy Madden in the 1980s Hermitage Bence Jones writes that this house was built for a banker named Bruce in 1800 but soon afterwards was purchased by the 1st Baron Massy The main seat of the Massy family in the 19th century held by them in fee and valued at 70 in the early 1850s The contents of this house were sold in 1916 and the house was burnt down in June 1920 Hermitage A house valued at 18 occupied by Eliza Martin and held from Robert Webb at the time of Griffith s Valuation In the 20th century the home of Edmund Glen Browne Hermitage This house was occupied by J A John Andrew Jackson at the time of Griffith s Valuation and held from his father Major Jackson The house was valued at 20 16 shillings and was located close to the River Ollatrim This house was renovated in the early 21st century Hermitage or Neptune O Connell states that this house was originally built by Dr Nicholas Archdeacon probably about 1805 6 It was later the property of the Blake family and in 1862 the house was known as Hermitage House and was the residence of Francis Blake Forster It has been in ruins since the mid 20th century Hernsbrook A property in the possession of the Ahern family for two centuries At the time of Griffith s Valuation Maurice Ahern held the property in fee The buildings were valued at 8 There is still an extant house at Hernsbrook High Park Occupied by the Reverend J W Edgar in 1837 and by Bridget Hogan in the mid 19th century valued at 12 and held from William Coppinger This house no longer exists High Park The Reverend John Hunt was resident at High Park in 1814 and in 1837 By the time of Griffith s Valuation his son Vere Hunt was the occupier The property was held from Richard Beere and the buildings were valued at 15 High Park is still extant and in 2012 was offered for sale Highfield John Daly was leasing this property from Robert D Beamish at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at almost 9 Farm buildings exist at the site now known as Highacres Highfort Reverend Somers Payne was leasing this property from Anne Nash at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 12 There is an extant house at the site which the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage asserts was built c 1880 Highfort The Purcells originally lived in a thatched house located a short distance from the present building and this house was associated with a Whiteboy attack John Purcell was knighted for his defense of his property The later house was built by his son Dr Richard Purcell circa 1837 and Dr Richard s wife Mrs Eliza Purcell was resident in the early 1850s when the house was valued at 21 and held from Pierce Purcell Mrs Eliza Purcell was the second daughter of Pierce Purcell of Altimira Occupied by Daniel Stephen Wigmore in the early 20th century The Irish Tourist Association Survey of the 1940s noted that it was then the residence of the O Sullivan family It is no longer extant Highpark A property in the possession of the Gabbett family from the early 18th century Described in the Ordnance Survey Name Book as having a decayed appearance this three storied house was built between 1759 and 1789 The house valued at 10 was vacant at the time of Griffith s Valuation It is still extant Highpark House At the time of Griffith s Valuation James Dowdican was leasing property from the Webber estate in the parish of Skreen including a house valued at 2 at Carrowgilhooly This may be the property named as Highpark House both on the First and 25 inch editions Ordnance Survey Maps There is still a house extant on the site Hill House Bandon William C Sullivan was leasing this house from the Devonshire estate in 1851 when it was valued at 20 It is labelled Barrett s Hill House on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map but as Hill House on the 25 inch edition of the 1890s It does not appear to be extant now Hill Ville At the time of Griffith s Valuation this house valued at almost 12 was being leased from Lord Ventry s estate by Thomas de Moleyns Lewis refers to HillVille as the seat of John Hickson Bary quotes O Donovan who claims that this house was built as a lodge in 1833 by James Hickson In 1906 it was still part of Lord Ventry s estate and valued at 16 It is now Crutch s Country House Hotel Hillgrove Lewis refers to Hillgrove as the residence of J Primrose in 1837 In the 1830s the Ordnance Survey Field Name Books described it as a rectangular building with two wings all two stories high and in good repair Bary states that Hillgrove House was built by John Primrose senior agent to the O Connell estate in the early nineteenth century It was being leased by John Primrose possibly son of the earlier John to Denis Coughlan at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 19 5s The property was offered for sale in July 1854 in the Encumbered Estates Court when David O Connor is recorded as the tenant at Hillgrove Primrose was also a principal lessor in the parish of Caher at this time Hillgrove is now demolished and much modern development has taken place in the area Hillpark At the time of Griffith s Valuation Sir Thomas Redington was leasing a property valued at 9 to Patrick Lynch This property was on the outskirts of Clarinbridge village Hillsborough Cottage Robert Hilliard was occupying this property at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 5 15s The Ordnance Survey Name Books describe it as being two stories high and in good repair in the 1830s Hillsbrook The home of a branch of the Kirwans of Cregg in the first half of the 19th century Occupied by Henry Campbell at the time of Griffith s Valuation when the house was valued at over 20 It is no longer extant Hillswood In 1837 Lewis recorded Hillswood as the seat of Hyacinth Donnellan At the time of Griffith s Valuation in 1856 Edmund Donnellan was leasing the house at Hillswood together with almost 300 acres to Obadiah Holland It is no longer extant Hilltown House Carrigaline Hilltown House was leased by Thomas Busteed from Anne Cook at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 8 It is labelled as Hilltown House on both the 6 inch and 25 inch Ordnance Survey maps Hilton This house is not marked on the first Ordnance Survey map The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage dates the house circa 1850 At the time of Griffith s Valuation the representatives of J Stephens held most of this townland from the Pennefathers The home of the Grant family from at least the 1870s Slater refers to it as the seat of Colonel G Fox Grant in 1894 Valued at 22 in 1906 and occupied by Joseph B Grant It is still extant in 2015 it was offered for sale Hilton Hilton located just to the south of Modreeny House was the home of Thomas Dancer later 6th Baronet in 1837 and of the 6th Baronet s son Thomas J Dancer in the mid 19th century Thomas J Dancer held the house valued at 15 from his father Sir Thomas B Dancer 6th Baronet In 1841 the Ordnance Survey Name Books had noted the house as the residence of Thomas Stoney A house is still located at this site Hilton A house built after the publication of the 1st Ordnance Survey map The home of the Grant family from at least the 1870s Slater refers to it as the seat of Colonel G Fox Grant in 1894 Valued at 22 in 1906 and occupied by Joseph B Grant It is still extant In 2015 it was offered for sale Hoddersfield Lewis refers to Hoddersfield as the seat of Col Hodder in 1837 and held in fee by William H Hodder in 1850 The house was then valued at 95 In 1894 Slater referred to it as the seat of William Hodder In the 1940s the Irish Tourist Association noted that it was the residence of B Nicholson who had bought the property from the Hodders and that the Library and other Hodder materials remained intact at the house Hoddersfield is now a roofless ruin Hodson Bay The home of the Hodson family on the shore of Lough Ree At the time of Griffith s Valuation occuppied by Leonard Hodson junior and Samuel Hodson who held from the Court of Chancery Now greatly expanded and functions as a hotel Holly Park In 1786 Wilson describes Holly Park as the seat of Richard Taylor it is very commodious and well situated having convenient offices and extensive demesnes Lewis writes that Holly Park was the ancient residence of the Taylor family now the property of Sir Aubrey de Vere However Griffith s Valuation records Richard Taylor holding Holly Park in the early 1850s in fee It was valued at 36 In 1894 Slater referred to it as the seat of George Taylor and in 1906 George Taylor held 277 acres of untenanted land and a mansion house valued at 34 at Currahchase North Sold by the Taylors in 1939 Feheney writes that the son of Tom Clarke one of the leaders executed in 1916 bought Holly Park from the Land Commission in the 1940s The home of John Philip Cohane in the 1970s who had restored the house after a fire It is still extant Holly Park Leitrim In 1786 Wilson refers to a house close to Leitrim village as the seat of William Houghton He may be referring to the house named on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map as Holly Park At the time

    Original URL path: http://www.landedestates.ie/LandedEstates/jsp/property-list.jsp?letter=H (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Landed Estates Database
    also held a mlll valued at 84 A house is still extant at the site Inchera This house also known as Sun Lodge was the home of the Oliver family Occupied by S Oliver in 1814 and Silver Charles Oliver in 1837 and in the 1850s The buildings were valued at 54 and the property was held from the Reverend Rowland Davis Gray Owned by C E Murphy in the first half of the 20th century Post 1950 it was destroyed by a fire Inchiclogh House Hamilton White held this property in fee in 1852 when it was valued at almost 34 Lewis refers to it as the seat of R White in 1837 It is included in the Encumbered Estates Sale Notice of December 1852 which indicates that it was held by Elizabeth White a widow by lease from the Court of Chancery The property does not appear on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s Inchinveema Christopher Gallway was leasing this property to Daniel Sullivan at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 6 Buildings are still extant at the site Inchiquin Cottage A house on the Marquess of Thomond s estate valued at 3 at the time of Griffith s Valuation and occupied by the Owens family in the first half of the 19th century Inchiquin House In the early 1850s Henry Hall occupied this house valued at 15 located on the Ponsonby estate Inchirourke More The residence of Hunt Esq in the 1770s and in 1786 Occupied by Edward Hunt in 1814 At the time of Griffith s Valuation Robert Hunt held the house valued at 6 5 shillings and over 500 acres in the townland of Askeaton from Sir Matthew Blakiston It is still extant Inchydoney House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Thomas Hungerford was leasing this property from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners when it was valued at 22 Described by Lewis as Island House and the seat of T Hungerford in 1837 In 1906 it was owned by Mary Sandes Hungerforde and valued at 31 15s The house is now used as a religious retreat centre India Villa Valued at 18 at the time of Griffith s Valuation India Villa was held on a lease from Patrick A Shannon to William Phayre and was described in 1856 as an exclusive modern residence It is no longer extant Inish Beg House Originally a summer retreat but eventually completed by the McCarthy Morrogh family as a house in 1899 Inish Beg Estate now provides luxury holiday accommodation Inishleena Located on the Devonshire estate Inishlenna Abbey was occupied by Cross Fitzgibbon at the time of Griffith s Valuation and in the 1870s The buildings were valued at 10 The location of the Abbey is now under water as part of a reservoir Innishannon House or Castle View Rev Robert Maunsell was leasing this property from the Frewen estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at

    Original URL path: http://www.landedestates.ie/LandedEstates/jsp/property-list.jsp?letter=I (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Landed Estates Database
    the Reverend R Lloyd in 1837 and by Samuel R Harding at the time of Griffith s Valuation The buildings were valued at 17 and held from Thomas L Sadlier Janeville Bandon Rev Henry Gillman was leasing this property from the Cornwall family in 1851 when it had a valuation of 33 It is labelled Janeville on both the 1st and 25 inch Ordnance Survey maps The house is still extant and now known as Eversleigh House Janeville County Waterford Janewille House was vacant at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was part of the Ussher estate and valued at 22 10s A second house X027936 in the same location was leased by Henry Smyth from the Ussher estate and valued at 15 10s In 1837 Lewis refers to Janeville as the seat of A Keily Wilson writing in 1786 refers to it as the seat of John Keily The house is no longer extant Jockeyhall A Blackall residence in the 18th century by the mid 19th century Jockeyhall was on the Tuthill estate and occupied by Patrick Dundon This house was included in the sale of the Tomkins estate in 1861 when held by the representatives of George Tuthill John s Hill House Occupied by Captain Simon Newport at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 28 Newport was leasing it from his wife s uncle Robert H Paul It is labelled Bishop s House on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey Map of the 1890s when it had become the residence of the Roman Catholic bishops of Waterford and Lismore Johns Port The residence of Maurice Hodson in 1814 and at the time of Griffith s Valuation held by John Hodson in fee It is no longer extant Johns Port House At the time of Griffith s Valuation owned by Alexander Gunning in fee and valued at 10 Labelled Johnsport House on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map and as St John s House on the later 25 inch edition of the 1890s It is still extant and offers guest accommodation See www stjohnshouse biz Johnsgrove Originally a Glover family home by the time of Griffith s Valuation it was occupied by Francis F P Holmes and held from Walter Nugent The buildings were valued at 30 This house is still occupied Johnstown Built circa 1782 by Colonel John Dillon and held on a lease in perpetuity from the Incorporated Society for Promoting English Protestant Schools in Ireland The Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to this fine residence occupied by D Kelly The Dillons were in residence again by the time of Griffith s Valuation It became the home of the Kelly family in the early 1870s until the late 1920s Demolished by the Land Commission only the entrance gates still remain Johnstown House Johnstown was the home of Sarsfield Esq in the 1770s and 1780s William Martin is recorded as resident at Johnstown in 1814 and Mrs Palmer in 1837 John Courtney

    Original URL path: http://www.landedestates.ie/LandedEstates/jsp/property-list.jsp?letter=J (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Landed Estates Database
    1894 It remained a Studdert home until sold to the Binghams in the 1920s A house is still extant at the site Kill Kiltormer At the time of Griffith s Valuation Joseph Hardy was leasing a herd s house valued at 5 at Kill parish of Kiltormer from Thomas Blackstock No house appears at this location on the later 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s though a modern buiding exists there now Kill House Richard J Long was leasing Kill House from the Attley estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 8 There is still a house at the site Killaclogher House Spring Park This property is labelled Spring Park on the First edition Ordnance Survey map and as Killaclogher House on the 25 inch edition of the 1890s It was the main home of the Kenney family in the 18th and 19th centuries At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was valued at over 16 and held in fee by James C Kenny The house is no longer extant Killacrim House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Timothy Horgan was leasing this property from the Earl of Listowel s estate when it was valued at 5 In 1837 Lewis mentions it as the seat of Captain O Halloran In 1814 Leet refers to it as the residence of John Raymond Bary writes that in the eighteenth century it was in lived in by members of the Fitzgerald family the Knights of Kerry The original house was destroyed by fire in the early 1970s and a new one constructed at the site Killagh Lands at Killaghmore and Clonecallin amounting to 635 acres were granted to Edmond Donnellan in 1684 Wilson refers to it as the seat of Mr Donnellan in 1786 Stephen Donnellan was occupying the property at Killagh valued at 33 at the time of Griffith s Valuation In 1906 it was in the possession of Stephen J R Donnellan It is no longer extant Killaghbeg Killaghbeg Denis Deely was leasing a property valued at 4 from the estate of Hon John Plunkett at the time of Griffith s Valuation The Ordnance Survey Name books indicate that this townland was part of Lord Clonbrock s estate in the 1830s The house is labelled Killaghbeg House on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s In 2010 it was extant but unoccupied Killaghy This is an old tower house which has been altered and remodelled In the 1770s and 1780s it was the home of Greene Despard Esq In 1837 Lewis refers to W Despard as the proprietor of Killaghy which was the residence of Baron Tobin and was taken by Cromwell who gave it to a Col Green from whom it has descended to its present proprietor Griffith s Valuation also records William Despard as the occupier He held the house valued at 23 from Sir Riggs Falkiner Bence Jones writes that Killaghy passed from the Despards to the Wrights by inheritance Hubert H Fox of Killaghy Castle owned 321 acres in county Tipperary in the 1870s In 1894 Slater refers to it as the seat of Miss M A Walpole Killaghy has had a number of owners in the 20th century and continues to function as a country residence For sale in 2010 see http www michaelhdaniels com Killaguile House Built by James E Jackson post Griffith s Valuation and possibly following his marriage in 1863 The house now functions as a hotel known as Ross Lake House Hotel Killaha Castle or Killaha House The original property at Killaha was Killaha Castle the hereditary seat of the O Donoghue of the Glens The family had moved to Killarney by the 19th century Lewis records that Killaha House was then the seat of J McCarthy At the time of Griffith s Valuation John McCarthy was leasing the house to Frederick Millbourne MD when it was valued at 16 10s Bary indicates that it was subsequently rented by the Orpen family and later possibly in the 1890s given to the Catholic church by R M Leeson Marshall who was descended from the O Donoghues of Killaha It afterwards served as the presbytery for the local parish Killahora House J Martin is recorded as resident at Killahora in 1837 At the time of Griffith s Valuation John Martin held a house valued at 25 from the Earl of Bandon A house is still extant at this site Killala Castle Formerly the residence of the Protestant Bishop of Killala and Achonry it was occupied by Walter James Bourke and his wife daughter of the Hon Frederick Cavendish founder of the Connaught Telegraph The castle was severly damaged by the Big Wind in January 1839 Demolished in the 1950s Killaneer House Occupied by Francis Beamish in perpetuity at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 22 Leet refers to it as the seat of Thomas Gash in 1814 Buildings are still extant at the site Killanully Rev Edward Newenham was leasing this property to Michael Donegan at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 9 Killareeny The Return of Untenanted Lands 1906 records a mansion house valued at 25 at Killareeny parish of Aughrim the property of George K Mahon This property was built in the late nineteenth century and is labelled Killareeny House on the 25 inch Ordnance Map of the 1890s Rev John Crawford was the lessor of the townland at the time of Griffith s Valuation The original house is not extant now Killarney House The 4th Earl of Kenmare had a new house built in the townland of Knockreer in the 1870s which became known as Killarney House Bary states that this house was accidentally burnt down in 1913 and never rebuilt The stable block was later converted into a dwelling and still survives The last owners the McShain family left the property to the nation in the 1960s An earlier house in this townland built in 1828 named in the Ordnance Survey Name Books as Prospect House was occupied by Thomas Brown in the 1830s Killarney Mills Christopher Gallway was leasing an extensive milling concern from the Kenmare estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation It was then valued at 85 Lewis refers to the extensive flour mills of Messers Galway and Leahy worked by the river Dinagh in 1837 Lyons notes that the mill complex was sold in the Encumbered Estates Court in 1855 and purchased by Richard Leahy for 1500 It was taken over by the Electricity Supply Board in 1940 The mills are no longer extant Killary Lodge Killary Lodge is marked on the south shore of Killary Harbour on the first Ordnance Survey map A herd s house valued at 1 and leased by John King from the Kilkelly estate is located here at the time of Griffith s Valuation Killaster Denis O Conor was leasing a property valued at 4 together with 100 acres at Killaster barony of Castlereagh to Patrick Coyne at the time of Griffith s Valuation The house is still extant and occupied Killavalla Lewis records Killavalla as the seat of R Johnston Stoney The Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to the house in this townland as Honeywood House the residence of Robert Johnstone Stoney very commodious with convenient offices attached Stoney s representatives held the property valued at 16 from the representatives of Stephen Egan at the time of Griffith s Valuation It later became the seat of the Saunders family This house no longer exists Killavallig A building is marked in this townland on the first Ordnance map A house valued at 14 is recorded at the time of Griffith s Valuation occupied by Michael R Mackey and held from Charles Purcell A house is still extant at this site Killavarilly At the time of Griffith s Valuation John O Neill a doctor held a house valued at 25 and 350 acres from the Duke of Devonshire at Killavarilly A house is still located at this site Killea Glebe At the time of Griffith s Valuation Mrs Eleanor Wood was leasing this property from James Morris when it was valued at 9 The property does not seem to be extant Killea House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Miss Jane Alcock was leasing this property from the Villiers Stuart estate when it was valued at almost 22 The building is not named on the later 25 inch Ordance Survey Map although a house still exists at the site Killeagh A house on the Midleton estate occupied by W Welland in 1837 and Henry Welland at the time of Griffith s Valuation He held the house valued at 40 with 427 acres William Welland of Brooklodge Middleton owned 185 acres in the 1870s This house now known as Westpark House is still a family residence Killedan The seat of the Taaffe family and later the home of the McManuses a well known medical family of whom Emily McManus Matron of Guy s Hospital London was a member Killee The seat of the Montgomery family from the mid 18th century occupied by George Montgomery in 1814 and by William Quinn Montgomery in the early 1850s It was held in fee at this time and valued at 43 Killee remained in Montgomery possession until the 1930s It is still occupied Killeen Originally known as New Park Killeen House was bought by Peter S Comyn from the Martins in 1849 and it became his main residence He died in 1866 and left the house to his niece Rose Comyn It is still extant and was run as a luxury guesthouse until 2008 Killeen House Denis Leary was leasing a house valued at 7 10s from the Earl of Kenmare s estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation A farm is still extant at this site Killeen House Killeen Castle Oranmore In 1814 Killeen Castle is recorded as the home of Marcus Blake By the time of Griffith s Valuation it was used by the Cullinane family who lived at Killeen House nearby The latter property was valued at 10 at the time of Griffith s Valuation The castle and its adjacent buildings afterwards fell into ruin but was restored in the later twentieth century and is now occupied once again Killeen House was demolished in the twentieth century Killeen House Kilcolman William Miles was leasing Killeen House from the Leeson estate at the time of Griffiths Valuation when it was valued at 15 5s Bary states that the Myles family were associated with this house since the eighteenth century and continued there up to the 1880s Later occupants demolished the house due to its poor condition Killeen House Portumna Killeen House was the birthplace of Mary Anne Kelly otherwise known as Eva of the Nation The house was the property of her father Edward Kelly In 1837 Lewis recorded it as the seat of E Kelly At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was valued at 18 Extensive corn mills are shown at the site on the First Edition Ordnance map Killeen House is still extant Killeena Rev John Wright was leasing this property from the Beecher estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 9 It is labelled as Killeena on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map but is described as in ruins on the later 25 inch edition of the 1890s Modern holiday accommodation exists at the site now Killeena House Leased from the Knoxes of Castlereagh by Duke Ormsby at the time of the first Ordnance Survey and Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 4 Buildings are still extant at the site Duke Ormsby was closely related to the Rinagry family of Ormsby Killeenleagh No demesne was marked in this townland on the first Ordnance Survey map but a house valued at 15 was situated there by the time of Griffith s Valuation It was occupied by Richard O Callaghan and held from the Earl of Listowel Killeentierna Glebe Rev Thomas Herbert owned the Glebe house at Killeentierna at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 18 Bary states that the house was built by Rev Herbert in 1839 and was later occupied by Arthur Herbert a land agent who was assassinated nearby in the 1880s The house was later used as a Church of Ireland rectory and later still as a presbytery by the local Catholic parish but has since been demolished Killehenny Lodge Robert Cashel was leasing this property from the estate of Lady Burghersh at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 5 and part of a holding of over 280 acres Bary notes that in the eighteenth century this house had been associated with the Tidmarsh family It is no longer extant and the area is covered by housing Killelton House Charles L Sandes was leasing this property to William Hickie at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 33 Bary writes that this Hickie family were originally from Tulla county Clare but moved here after the Cromwellian confisciation of the 1650s They remained in possession of the property until the 1920s The Irish Tourist Association survey mentions that it was formerly the home of the Higgins O Connor family but by the 1940s was in poor repair The original house is now a ruin Killemly Lodge In 1837 the proprietor of Killemly Hall was H Hughes but it was occupied by L Clutterbuck The Ordnance Survey Name Books also note it as his residence in 1840 The house was vacant in the early 1850s valued at 9 15 shillings and held by Thomas Going from Mrs Catherine Sarsfield There was a small corn mill nearby A house is still extant at this location Killenure Castle Leet records Samuel Cooper as the proprietor of Killenure in 1814 and Lewis in 1837 as the seat of William Cooper At the time of Griffith s Valuation William Cooper held the property in fee and the house was valued at 31 10 shillings The Coopers were still resident at Killenure in the early 20th century As its webiste suggests It has been a fortified home with sturdy towers a hunting box a country house for a large family a busy productive farm with stables and coach house a boarding school and even a meditation centre It will be open to the public from Summer 2012 See htp killenure com Killeragh At the time of Griffith s Valuation Thomas Kenny was occupying a property valued at 5 together with 180 acres in the townland of Killeragh parish of Clonfert barony of Longford A house is still extant at the site Killetra Mount Ruby Hajba writes that this house originally known as Mount Ruby derived its name from the Ruby family who lived there in the mid 18th century Thomas Flynn Justice of the Peace for Cork in 1793 married a Ruby In 1786 Wilson refers to Kilottery as the seat of Mr McCarthy The house had a number of occupants including John N Wrixon before it became the residence of Michael Jones at the time of Griffith s Valuation It was valued at 18 and held from the representatives of Thomas Flynn This house is still a family residence Killian This house was the main residence of the Cheevers family valued in the mid 19th century at 45 The house is no longer extant but the gate lodge survives Killimer Castle Originally a tower house Killimor Castle was modernised in the early 1700s by the addition of two slated wings The Dalys continued to reside there until the end of the 18th century when the castle and demesne were leased to Dominick Burke of Slatefield In 1837 Lewis records it as the seat of Hyacinth Burke Dominick J Burke was still leasing the house at Killimor from Rev Nicholas Devereux at the time of Griffith s Valuation It was then valued at 16 The house at Killimordaly had fallen into disrepair but has been restored Killinardrish House Lewis describes this house as a elegant Italian lodge lately built by R J O Donoghue It was valued at 38 and held from Sir Augustus Warren In 1944 the Irish Tourist Association Survey noted that it was the residence of Mr O Donovan manager of the creamery at Lissarda Killinadrish is still extant There was also a steward s house in this townland occupied by members of the Crooke family Killiney Thomas Blennerhassett was leasing this property from the Blackwood estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 4 on a holding of 660 acres Killora Lodge This house was the residence of Reverend R Berry Bury in 1837 and was unoccupied at the time of Griffith s Valuation Reverend Robert Bury was the immediate lessor and the buildings were valued at 20 It is still extant and occupied Killoran Killoran was occupied by Thomas Lalor in 1814 and by Solomon Lalor Cambie in 1837 S L Cambie was still the occupier at the time of Griffith s Valuation holding the property from Richard Thompson The buildings were valued at 17 The house is still extant Killorglin Glebe Rev Robert Denny was leasing Killorglin Glebe to Rev William de Moelyns at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 16 The site now appears to be occupied by agricultural buildings Killoskehane This house was the seat of the Willington family In 1837 Lewis wrote that Killoskehane Castle includes part of the ancient castle in the modern mansion The property was held by John Willington in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation when the buildings were valued at 29 Edward D Martin was the occupier of Killoskehane in 1906 and William Costigan in the 1940s The building is still extant and occupied Killoteran House William Scully was leasing this property from Edward Roberts in 1850 when it was valued at 34 It is still extant and occupied Killough A 16th century tower house with a number of additions Lewis records Killough Castle as the occasional residence of the Honourable Mrs Plunkett In 1850 the Honourable Bowes Daly occupied the castle valued at 22 14 shillings which he held in fee Killough Templemore Cottage type house built 1880 In 1906 Richard J Lloyd is recorded as the occupier of a mansion house valued at 27 in the townland of Killough Killowen House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Edward Orpen was leasing this property from the Landsdowne estate when it was valued at 3 Lewis mentions it as the occasional residence of H Orpen in 1837 In the 1770s it was noted by Taylor and Skinner but no proprietor is given Bary notes that this property was originally in the possession of the Taylor estate but was was taken over by the Orpens in the early eighteenth century It passed through marriage to the Palmer family It was demolished in the twentieth century Killukin Glebe Killukin House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Archdeacon Henry Irwin was occupying the Glebe House in the parish of Killukin valued at 11 This property is labelled Killukin House on the 25 inch Ordnance survey map of the 1890s A house is still extant at the site Killuntin Home of a branch of the Roche family occupied by Edmund Roche in 1814 by R Roche in 1837 and by Richard V Roche at the time of Griffith s Valuation Richard Roche held the property in fee and the buildings were valued at 15 10 shillings Hajba records the house as a ruin Killuragh Built by the Thornhills in the late 18th century and soon afterwards leased to the Linehan family Cornelius Linihan was resident in 1837 and Ellen Linehan in the early 1850s She held the property from Edward B Thornhill the buildings were valued at 20 A lithograph of this house is included in the sale rental of 1851 but there is not much similarity between it and the present building which is now known as The Glen Killure Writing in 1786 Wilson refers to Killure as the seat of Mr Dillon He appears to be referring to either Killure Castle or a property associated with it The castle is described as in ruins on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map of 1842 and the ruin of the tower house is still visible Killwood House Gortnaraheen Glebe In 1856 Thomas Stratford Eyre was leasing a property described as a glebe house in the townland of Gortnaraheen valued at 8 to Rev Thomas Grome It has become known as Killwood House by the 1890s A house still exists at the site Killygar It is estimated by the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage that Killygar was built in 1813 At the time of Griffith s Valuation Killygar House was occupied by John Godley and was valued at 43 It was also the residence of John Godley in 1814 and in 1837 In 1894 Slater refers to it as the seat of Archibald Godley It is still extant and occupied by the Godley family Kilmacabea Mill John Sheehan was leasing this property from the Bennett estate in 1852 when it was valued at almost 13 and included a mill A corn mill then disused is shown on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s A building still exists at the site Kilmacow Located on the Devonshire estate on the Cork Waterford border Kilmacow was occupied by John Boyce in 1814 and by William John Day in the early 1850s The buildings were valued at 12 Bought by John Murphy of Tallow in the late 19th century and still extant Kilmacurkan In 1906 John L Brinkley owned property valued at 20 at Kilmacurkan barony of Tireragh At the time of Griffith s Valuation the only building on his lands here was a herd s house valued at 5s A substantial building is indicated on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s but no trace of this remains now Local sources indicate that this was a scutch flax mill of which the ruins still stand including the traces of the flax ponds various sheds etc that are present on the 1890 map Kilmaloda House Thomas Beamish held this property in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 50 In 1837 Lewis refers to it as the seat of Sampson Beamish In 1906 it was owned by Sampson Beamish and valued at 68 15s Local sources suggest it was built by the earlier Sampson Beamish and occupied by his descendents until the mid twentieth century when it came into the hands of the McCarthy Murrough family It is still extant and occupied In 2013 it was offered for sale Kilmanahan Castle Robert Sparrow was leasing this property from the Greene estate in 1850 when it was valued at over 72 It was offered for sale as part of William Greene s estate in July and December 1852 The sale notice includes a lithograph of the castle It was bought by Alexander Glasgow who sold it on to the Earl of Donoughmore in 1855 Earlier in 1786 Wilson notes it as the seat of Mr Greene In 1837 Lewis refers to it as the seat of Lt Col Nuttall Greene Hussey records Thomas Wright Watson of Kilmanahan Castle in the mid 1870s In 1906 it was part of th Donoughmore estate and valued at 45 It is still extant Kilmeen Glebe East Carbery Reverend Edward Alcock was leasing this property from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners in 1851 when it was valued at 23 Lewis notes that there were large plantations around the house in 1837 when it was the seat of Reverend E H Kenney In 1944 the Irish Tourist Association Survey reported that it was then the residence of Rev Gorman Buildings are still extant at the site Kilmoney Abbey At the time of Griffith s Valuation Michael Roberts was leasing this property from Thomas R Sarsfield when it was valued at 50 Lewis referred to it as the handsome residence of Michael Roberts in 1837 It is stil extant and well maintained Thomas Sarsfield was leasing a smaller propertyin the same townland valued at 9 to Eugene McCarthy There are two properties shown on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s Kilmoney House and Kilmoney Cottage Buildings are still extant at these sites though extensive urban development has occurred in the area Kilmore A house at Kilmore was occupied by the Reverend William Thompson in 1814 Edward Corcoran and John Sadlier held Kilmore valued at 3 in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation Edward Kennedy owned the property in the 1870s The house which was located just inside the stone pillars was demolished circa 2004 Kilmore Originally a Shaen property which passed by marriage to the Carters A house and 4 acres were leased by Sir Arthur Shaen to William Hartly on 3 Aug 1706 see sale rental 1855 In 1749 1778 and 1786 it was occupied by the Waller family The house was a ruin by the 1830s Kilmore The home of a branch of the Hickman family in the 18th and 19th centuries In 1786 Wilson refers to it as the seat of Mr Hickan Inherited by the Gores in the 1860s Burnt in July 1922 Kilmore Brian de Breffny writes that the back section of Kilmore House is part of the 17th century house built by the Moncktons The front part was built by the Tuthills in the mid 18th century George Tuthill purchased the house from Edward Monckton in 1737 The Tuthills had previously held it on lease Occupied by Thomas Lynch in 1814 and by Colonel William Jones in the early 1850s when the property was held from Elizabeth Tuthill and valued at 15 In 1906 Kilmore was the residence of Anne Isabel O Grady This house is still extant and occupied Kilmore The Bagwell family are described as of Kilmore in the 18th century In 1786 Wilson refers to Kilmore as the seat of John Bagwell Kilmore is marked in the middle of the townland on the first Ordnance Survey map This area was divided up at the time of Griffith s Valuation and the only buildings over 10 valuation were a mill house and offices on the northern perimeter of the townland Kilmore The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage dates this house from the early to mid 18th century and the Wayland family were resident at this time Austin Cooper was living at Kilmore in 1837 and at the time of Griffith s Valuation Samuel Cooper was the occupier He held Kilmore from the Earl of Normanstown and the buildings were valued at 16 This house is still occupied and part of a working farm Kilmore House Built by the Reverend Edward King Bishop of Elphin circa 1630 Home of a branch of the Lawder family in the 18th century until the murder of James Lawder in 1779 The Auchmuty family resided at Kilmore in the 19th century The demesne was named Aghaward on the first Ordnance Survey map A large farm is still extant at the site Kilmore House Garrettstown Mills Ballinspittle Richard Jago was leasing this property from the Kearney estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 16 and included a milling business By the 1890s Kilmore House is located nearer to the mill which is now labelled Garrettstown Mill W591454 Kilmore House and portions of the mill building are still extant Kilmore House Bandon Michael Curtin was leasing this property from the Devonshire estate in 1851 when it was valued at almost 19 Noted by Lewis in 1837 and Leet in 1814 as the seat of William Popham Local tradition associates this house with Maj Daniel O Mahony participant in the Battle of Cremona 1702 The original house is not extant Kilmore House Tallow Held in fee by Rev William Percival at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 37 Lewis refers to it in 1837 as Kilmore Hill residence of Rev W Percival a handsome seat on the new line of road to Youghal Wilson writing in 1786 refers to the Perceval residence near Tallow as Kilmahoe In 1906 it was still owned by William Percival and valued at 37 10s Kilmorgan Jemmet Duke held 220 acres at Kilmorgan barony of Corran as well as a property valued at 5 at the time of Griffith s Valuation Lewis had recorded Kilmorgan as the seat of Robert Weir McTernan notes that Kilmorgan had belonged to the Trumble family but was sold by them in 1855 The site is now occupied by farm buildings Kilmorna House Pierce Mahony was leasing Kilmorna House to William Lunham at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 23 10s On the first edition Ordnance Map it is labelled as Kilmeany House In 1786 Wilson refers to Killlmeny as the seat of Mr Gunn Bary states that it was originally a Raymond house named Riversdale but that it was bought by Pierce Mahony in 1834 Leet in 1814 refers to it as the residence of Mrs Raymond In 1906 it was the property of George Gun Mahony and valued at 20 It continued to be occupied by the Mahony family and their descendents until 1921 when it was burnt and the then resident Arthur Vicars shot dead Kilmoylan The home of Richard White in 1814 and of Newport White in the early 1850s held from the representatives of D Barrington The buildings were valued at almost 18 It is no longer extant Kilmoyle A house built by the Boyds merchants in Limerick city circa 1845 on the Lansdowne estate and originally known as Westfield For many years the residence of the Catholic Bishops of Limerick Sold by the Diocese to Aidan Brooks for development in 2007 for a sum reputed to be 20 million Kilmoyler A late 18th century house the seat of the O Meagher family occupied by Dennis O Meagher in 1814 and 1837 and by Stephen O Meagher at the time of Griffith s Valuatiton He held the property in fee and the buildings were valued at 40 In 1865 this property was advertised for sale by the Prestons The rental records that the house was held on a lease dated 1860 from William O Meagher to Standish Butler who was resident at the time In 1786 Wilson had recorded the castle and house at Kilmoyler the ancient seat of Colonel Butler Still extant and occupied Kilmoylerane House Richard J Long was leasing this property from the Devonshire estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 15 A house and extensive farm buildings exist at the site Kilmurray House Anthony Raymond was leasing Kilmurray House to Catherine McIntosh at the time of Griffith s Valuaton when it was valued at 18 5s The Ordnance Survey Name Books describe it as a handsome house 3 storeys high in the 1830s Bary writes Kilmurray was said to have been built by Archibald McIntosh Cantoss around 1839 although it appears earlier than that By 1870 George Raymond QC who resided in Dublin used Kilmurray as a summer home where his relatives the McIntosh family resided It is still extant and in 2008 was offered for sale Kilmurry A house valued at 11 and held by Eyre Lloyd in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation now derelict Kilmurry The house was built in the early 18th century and remained in the hands of the Grant family until sold to the Rosminian Order in the 1930s In the 1940s the Irish Tourist Association surveyor was given to understand that the Grants still retained title to the property and were residing in South Africa In the mid 19th century it was valued at 37 and held by Thomas St John Grant in fee At the beginning of the 21st century this house was in a dilapidated state Kilmurry Corkaguiny In 1906 Lord Ventry s estate owned this property valued at 6 5s At the time of Griffith s Valuation much of the property in this townland was held by Thompson Lord Ventry s agent A house valued at 1 4s was being leased from them by Richard Searl and another together with 48 acres by Laurence Sullivan The coastguard station was also located there Kilmurry Lodge A house valued at 16 13 shillings was occupied by the Reverend Richard Morrissey in the townland of Ballynamona at the time of Griffith s Valuation It was held from William P Barker Kilmurry Lodge is marked on the first Ordnance Survey map and is described in the Ordnance Survey Name Books as a lodge handsomely situated with a garden orchard and fir plantation This house is still in use as a residence Kilnaborris Dower House John Seymour was leasing a property valued at 8 from Hubert Moore at the time of Griffith s Valuation It was located in the townland of Kilnaborris parish of Clonfert Kilnaborris Dower House is still extant and now offered as holiday accommodation Kilnagnady House Leased by John Popham from the Devonshire estate in 1851 when it was valued at 10 There is still an extant house at this site Kilnagrange Mills In 1851 Pierce Barron was leasing this property which included Kilnagrange Mills to Mrs Catherine Dunn It was valued at 14 Now the site of Flahavans oat milling company Kilnagross At the time of Griffith s Valuation William Sullivan was leasing this property to Rev Somerset Townsend when it was valued at almost 12 In 1837 it was the seat of Rev W Sullivan It is no longer extant Kilnamack In 1849 the representatives of John Greene were leasing this property to Edward Butler when it was valued at 12 11s Both Wilson and Taylor and Skinner had also recorded it as a residence of the Greene family in the 1780s It is still extant and in 2013 was offered for sale Kilpatrick Hajba writes that Roger Langley leased this property from the Longfields in the mid 18th century Lewis writes that William J McCormick medical doctor occupied the house in 1837 A boys school was established at Kilpatrick by the McCormicks At the time of Griffith s Valuation William J McCormack held the house valued at almost 10 15 shillings from Christopher Langley Sir William J MacCormac was a well known London surgeon the son of Dr Henry MacCormac of Belfast The house was occupied until the early 20th century but is now a ruin Kilpatrick House Henry Herrick was leasing Kilpatrick House from the Devonshire estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 45 A house still exists here Kilpeacon Lewis writes that the manor was granted to William King in the reign of James I and that the late proprietor had erected a handsome mansion which was now the property and residence of Cripps Villiers In his will dated 1704 William King refers to his niece Mary Villiers The Ordnance Survey Field Name Book states that Kilpeacon House was the property of Edward Villiers Dublin and was occupied by Miss Deborah Cripps Built in 1820 it was a large commodious building of 2 stories It was the residence of Edward C Villiers at the time of Griffith s Valuation held in fee and valued at 60 Bought by Major George Gavin in the early 1850s from the Villiers and the residence of his son Montiford W Gavin in the early 20th century The Irish Tourist Association surveyor writes in 1942 that this house was completed in 1799 The owner was Mrs

    Original URL path: http://www.landedestates.ie/LandedEstates/jsp/property-list.jsp?letter=K (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Landed Estates Database
    only had a valuation of 5s Lemonfield In 1786 Wilson writes that Lemonfield was the seat of Sir John O Flaherty George O Flahertie was occupying the property at Lemonfield at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 20 The house is no longer extant Lemonfield House Sometimes spelt Leamonfield this house was the home of a junior branch of the Bevan family in the first half of the 19th century Griffith s Valuation records Thomas Bevan as the occupier holding the property from the Reverend William Lloyd It was valued at 14 Burke s Irish Family Records refers to Arthur Russell of Lemonfield sixth son of John Norris Russell of Limerick He died 1890 The house is no longer extant Lenaboy Castle This property was held in fee by James O Hara at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 40 In 1786 Wilson refers to a house at Galway which was the seat of Geoffrey O Hara Bence Jones describes the house as Tudor Gothic early to mid 19th century while the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage notes that the current building is dated 1859 It is now a Health Services facility Leslie Lodge In 1786 Wilson states that Leslie Lodge was the seat of Robert Leslie commanding a beautiful view of the river Shannon Bary writes that Leslie Lodge was located in Shanaway townland and was sometimes known by this name Leslie Lodge or Shanaway Pierce Mahony was leasing this property to James Patterson at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 12 Wilson refers to it as a seat of Robert Leslie in 1786 In 1814 Leet refers to Leslie Lodge as the residence of John Parker Lewis in 1837 records the purchase of the property by Col D G Halliburton In 1856 it is included in the sale of the estate of George Phillip Gun Mahony a minor when it is described as untenanted In 1906 Stephen Collis owned a property at Shanaway East valued at 6 It is no longer extant Letter House John Wren was leasing this property to Alicia Wren at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 13 Lewis records it as the seat of G Wren in 1837 In 1814 Leet refers to Litter as the residence of John Wren Bary writes that Letter was originally a Blennerhassett property which passed to the Wren family through marriage It is still extant and owned by descendents of that family Letter Lodge Reputed to have been a hunting lodge of the Martins of Ross this herd s house was occupied by William Poe in the 1850s who held the property from James O Hara David Walsh was the tenant of Letter in 1890 In the late 20th century the home of Richard Ward wildlife artist and still a private residence Letterbrickaun Peter King had a house and buildings of more than 12 valuation in this townland at the time of Griffith s Valuation The village of Letterbrickaun is no longer marked on the map and there is no access road Lettercollum House Lettercollum House was built by members of the Beamish family in the 1860s and occupied by them until the twentieth century It served as a convent for the Sisters of Mercy and was later run as a guesthouse It is now the focus of the Lettercollum Kitchen Project Letterfine Letterfyne Letterfine was occupied by the representatives of Mary Anne McNamara in the mid 1850s In 1814 it was the address of Tobias Peyton Taylor and Skinner and Wilson both record it as a seat of the Reynolds family in the 1780s It is labelled Letterfine House on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey Map but is not visible on the later 25 inch edition In 1943 the Irish Tourist Association survey recorded no trace of the house Letterfrack Originally a farm house built by John Ellis it later became a monastery and a community craft shop Levally Home of the Fair family for a time in the 19th century At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was leased by James Simpson from the Earl of Lucan s estate and valued at 5 It is described as a Herd s House It was unoccupied in the early years of this century and for sale in 2007 Demolished in September 2007 Lickadoon The Ordnance Survey Field Name Book records the date for the building of this 3 storey house the seat of George Parsons as circa 1779 at a cost of about 1000 By the time of Griffith s Valuation John O Brien was residing at Lickadoon which he held from George Biggs The buildings were valued at 20 In 1942 this house was the property of Mr William Leahy a solicitor and formerly the residence of the the Urquhart Hunts ITA Lickeen James O Connell was leasing Lickeen House valued at 11 15s to Francis Newton at the time of Griffith s Valuation Bary states that the second of two houses at this site was built by Francis Newton in the mid nineteenth century but that the original Lickeen House is much older Later the Eager family lived here Lickeen House is still extant and occupied Lickfinn Fergus Langley occupied Lickfinn in 1814 and John Langley held the house valued at 12 and 273 acres in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation This house was later known as Knockanure In 1906 held by the representatives of John Langley Licklash Occupied by James Reid in the early 1850s and held from the representatives of Matthew Hendly the buildings were valued at 18 This house later became a summer home of Sir Oswald Mosley Also known as Isleclash Ileclash House This house was offered for sale in 2010 http www michaelhdaniels com index cfm fuseaction propdetails Prop RefId 24 Lifford House Weir writes that in 1722 Francis Gore leased Lifford to Richard England Patrick England was High Sheriff of the county in 1749 In 1786 Wilson refers to Lifford as the seat of Mr England By the early 19th century the Right Honourable Matthias Finucane was resident at Lifford House Honoria Slattery the common law wife of Andrew Finucane son of Matthias occupied the house at the time of Griffith s Valuation It was valued at 20 and was held from Sir Richard England Weir writes that the house was demolished in 1965 Lime Hill Patrick Egan was leasing property valued at 13 including a mill and over 100 acres at Limehill barony of Leitrim county Galway at the time of Griffith s Valuation This was part of the Clancarty estate The house is labelled Limehill House on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s It is still extant Limepark In 1855 the house at Limepark north parish of Kilthomas barony of Dunkellin was in the possession of George Persse Earlier in the 19th century the house was occupied by Thomas Wilton This property was recorded as the seat of the Wallace family by Lewis in 1837 During the 1916 Rising it afforded shelter to the rebels from Galway It is now a ruin Lindsey Cottage Marked on the first Ordnance Survey map as Lindsey Cottage At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was occupied by John Litton who held it from the Bishop of Cork Cloyne and Ross The buildings were valued at 20 Lindville A house named Lindville is marked on the first Ordnance Survey map in this townland close to the bank of the River Suir At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was valued at 16 and occupied by Thomas Lindsey who held it from William Butler No building is now extant at this site Linfield This house was the residence of Darby O Grady in 1837 and the early 1850s He held it from the Lloyd Apjohn family who subsequently lived in it Sold by the Lloyd Apjohns following the death of Michael Marshall Lloyd Apjohn in 1895 This house was a ruin until recently renovated and is now inhabited Lirias Mrs Ellard was resident at this house in 1837 and in the early 1850s it was occupied by Benjamin Barter who held it from Sophia Ellard It was valued at 20 The house shown as Lirias on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map is not visible on the later 25 inch map of the 1890s though a nearby group of buildings has the same name Some of these now form part of a farmyard complex Lisadale Lodge John Busteed was leasing Lisadale Lodge from William Howard at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 6 10s The Ordnance Survey Name Books record it as the residence of William Howard by whom it was supposedly built in 1836 Bary writes that the house may have been a hunting lodge It is now ruinous Lisbeg In 1906 the representatives of John Pollok were in possession of a house and buildings valued at 65 at Lisbeg parish of Clonfert At the time of Griffith s Valuation Allen Pollok had owned the townland of 353 acres and a herd s house valued at almost 3 The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage states that it was re built after a fire in the 1890s and occupied by John Gardiner at that time It is still extant and occupied Lisbehagh Sampson Beamish was leasing this property to John Donovan at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 8 Lisbride Occupied by John B Purdon in 1814 and in 1822 by Arthur Browne Patrick Duignan was resident at the time of Griffith s Valuation when the house was valued at 12 A house still exists at the site Lisbrine House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Lisbrine was the residence of Richard Burke and was valued at 12 By 1906 it was owned by John Burke and was valued at 11 while a smaller house valued at 6 was owned by Myles Burke Lisbrine House is no longer extant Lisbryan Lisbrien or Lisbryan near Ballingarry was occupied by Faulkner Esq in the 1770s and 1780s Sir Robert Waller Baronet was occupying this house in 1814 Lewis records T Bunbury as the proprietor in 1837 The Ordnance Survey Name Books also refer to it as his residence a very extensive building of the modern style Thomas Bunbury held the property from Lord Ashtown at the time of Griffith s Valuation when the buildings were valued at 40 Lisbryan is still extant Liscahill Lodge The Ordnance Survey Name Books indicate that Liscahill House was the residence of P Ryan in 1840 though it also refers to Liscahill Lodge the residence of Mr Baker A vacant house valued at 12 was located in this townland held by William Baker senior in the mid 19th century Buildings are still located at this site Liscarney At the time of Griffith s Valuation Edward Hussey was leasing a property at Liscarney to the Dingle Poor Law Guardians as an auxilliary workhouse Lewis notes Liscarney in the parish of Ballyduff as the seat of T B Hussey in 1837 However this appears to be Liscarney House leased by Hussey to Brigid Flaherty at the time of Griffith s Valuation and valued at 1 It is not shown on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s Liscongill Occupied by William Allen at the time of Griffith s Valuation and held from Richard O Aldworth valued at 20 In 1943 the Irish Tourist Association Survey mentions that the house had been divided and was then occupied by the Angland and Moynihan families It is no longer extant Lisconny Lisconny was a property which belonged to the Phibbs family in the eighteenth century McTernan notes that it had been purchased by them from the Mortimer family in the 1770s It passed to the Toler family earls of Norbury through marriage At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was occupied by Bernard Owen Cogan leasing from Lady Norbury s estate It was then valued at 20 Lewis also records it as being occupied by the Cogan family in 1837 Johnston asserts that the Cogans acted as agents for Lady Norbury s estate in Ireland The house was demolished early in the twentieth century Very few traces remain except some walls of the stable yard and a building which had been an annex to the big house Liscottle Home of the Horkan family in the second half of the 19th century It was leased by George Harkan from Robert Ruttledge at the time of Griffith s Valuation when the house was valued at 2 It is labelled Liscottle House on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s Liscottle is no longer extant Liscrona House A home of the MacDonnell family possibly incorporating their original home before they bought New Hall in the mid 18th century The present house was probably built post Griffith s Valuation as 1 is the highest house valuation in LIsheencrony at that time In 1906 Charles R A McDonnell is recorded as owning a mansion house valued at 24 at Lisheencrony The house has had a number of owners in the 20th century and was restored in the 1970s Lisdonagh An O Flaherty home built in the late 18th century sold to the O Mahonys in the late 19th century and passed by marriage to the Palmers Now functions as a guest house run by John and Finola Cook http www irelands blue book ie lisdonagh htm Lisduane The seat of Walter Mason situated on the estate of General Dixon Dickson circa 1840 Occupied by John Leland Mason at the time of Griffith s Valuation and held by him from the Court of Chancery The buildings were valued at 12 William Harte Mason of Cooleen Bruree owned 190 acres in the 1870s A house and farm are still extant at the site Lisduff Thomas Ellis was occupying the house at Lisduff at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 18 Earlier in 1837 Lewis records Lisduff as the seat of a Mr Lyons Taylor and Skinner recorded Lisduff as a seat of the Kelly Browne Kelly of Westport family in 1783 Documents in the National Library of Ireland indicate it was in the ownershop of Henry Brush in 1862 Slater refers to is as the seat of John Abbott in 1894 In 1906 this property was occupied by H D M Barton who also held over 250 acres of untenanted land in the area The house is still extant Lisduff The Smiths were resident at Lisduffe from the early 18th century when Jeremiah Lalor married the daughter of Samuel Smith of Lisduffe From this couple descend the Lalors of Long Orchard Samuel Smyth was the occupant of Lisduff in 1814 and William Smith in 1837 Griffith s Valuation records John Minchin as resident The buildings were then valued at 33 and held from Admiral Darby This house is still a residence Lisfennel House In 1851 John Keily was leasing Lisfennel to Beverley Keily when it was valued at 12 10s Though there are buildings at the site it is not named on the 6 inch Ordnance Survey Map but is labelled Lisfennel House on the 25 inch map of the 1890s It was owned by Mrs Susan Keily in 1906 when the house was valued at 14 10s and other buildings were valued at 6 There is still a house at the site Lisfinny House Major Edward Croker was leasing this house from the Devonshire estate in 1851 when it was valued at 23 Lewis also recorded it as his residence in 1837 when he noted that the ancient castle built by the Earl of Desmond has been converted into a handsome residence It is still extant and occupied Lisheen In 1786 Wilson writes that Lisheen was a seat sometimes occupied by the Earl of Clanwiliam It became the seat of the Fitzgeralds Baronets in the 19th century valued at 33 in the 1850s and held from the Earl of Portarlington Edward Dalton was the tenant at the time of the sale of the Earl of Portarlington s estates in June 1856 A building is still located at this site Lisheen Lower Ormond In 1840 the Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to Lisheen House in the parish of Aglishcloghane as held by John Crawford but an addendum to the entry on the parish of Uskane note that Lisheen was the residence of Geo Fosbery Jnr By the time of Griffith s Valuation it was held in fee by George Fosberry and valued at almost 8 A house is still extant at the site Lisheen Castle Lisheen Castle was the home of a branch of the Lloyd family from at least 1837 Altered and extended by John Lloyd it was valued at 42 at the time of Griffith s Valuation and held by John Lloyd in fee The Lloyd family continued to live at the Castle until the 1880s though Slater refers to it as a seat of Mrs Lloyd as late as 1894 It was subsequently leased and then in 1918 sold to William Bray O Brien of Ardfort House Thurles When the castle was burnt in 1921 it was the property of O Brien s daughter and son i law Camilla and John Francis O Meara In 1994 the ruins were purchased by Joan and Michael Everard who have restored the building which now offers luxury castle accommodation see http www lisheencastle com Lisheen House Bantry Rev John Orpen was leasing this property from John Herbert Orpen in 1852 when it was valued at 14 In 1837 Lewis described it as a handsome residence for which the late Board of First Fruits granted a loan of 1500 It is named as Lisheen House on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s It is no longer extant Lisheens The residence of Richard Donovan at the time of Griffith s Valuation held from the representatives of John Stevely and valued at 16 Liskelly The property at Liskelly valued at 14 was being leased by John E Maher to John Ryan Jun at the time of Griffith s Valuation in 1855 In 1814 Liskelly was recorded as the residence of Francis Kelly The house is still extant and occupied Liskelly This house situated on the Egmont estate was occupied by Richard Gregg in 1814 and in the early 1850s by David Coghlan who held the house valued at 12 from Sir Edward Tierney Later Liskelly became the residence of the Nagles and the Brownes It is no longer occupied Liskennet Nicholas Monckton of Liskennet made his will in 1721 Patrick Heffernan lived at Liskennet in 1814 and Roger Sheehy circa 1840 In the 1850s the house was ccupied by Francis S Walker valued at 15 and held from John Anster Trinity College Dublin and Ellen Heffernan The sale rental of the Walker Anster estate in 1873 refers to Lots 1 and 2 as formerly part of the estate of Michael Heffernan of Camas By the 1870s Liskennet was in the possession of the Conyers family The old stable block is still extant but the house is a modern structure Liskeveen Fannyville Originally known as Fanny Ville and marked on the first Ordnance Survey map as such The Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to it as the residence of Richard Beere in 1840 This house was extended sometime in the mid 19th century and was valued at 30 when occupied by Samuel M Going and held by him in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation It is still extant Liskilleen Built by Courtney Kenny in 1862 He was also the owner of the townland at the time of Griffith s Valuation when a herd s house existed there It is still extant and occupied Lislee House Lisleetemple Glebe Rev James Stewart was leasing this property from the Boyle estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 24 5s Lewis refers to it as the seat of Rev Stewart in 1837 It is still extant and now known as Lislee House Lislevane Cottage Lislevane Cottage was being leased by Alexander Deane from the ladies Boyle at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 9 There is a large farm at the site now with a house possibly dating from the early twentieth century Lisloughrey This house is not marked on the first edition Ordnance Survey map but was built by the time Sir William Wilde s book on Lough Corrib was published in 1867 It was then occupied by William Burke agent to Benjamin Lee Guinness Occupied at the time of the 1901 census by Francis Turnly of Drumnasole Garronpoint Co Antrim who was then agent to the Ashford estate In the late 20th century the home of Rory Murphy manager of Ashford Castle Hotel The building has now been greatly expanded and functions as a hotel http www lisloughreylodge com Lismacrory An early home of the Smith family in county Tipperary Lewis writes that Lismacrony was the ancient residence of the family of Smith now the property of Mr Bunbury This house was in ruins at the time of the first edition Ordnance Survey map In 1841 the Ordnance Survey Name Books description says it was a very commodious house of the modern style of architecture with extensive offices attached to it but it is now falling into ruins the last occupier was Rev Mr Smyth of Ballingarry Lismacue The seat of the Baker family in the 18th and 19th centuries Lismacue was referred to by Wilson as the seat of Mr Baker in 1786 It was occupied by William Baker in 1814 and by his nephew Hugh Baker in 1837 when Lewis describes the house as a handsome castellated mansion The Ordnance Survey Name Books describe it as lately erected the property of John Charters in 1840 The house was valued at 55 at the time of Griffith s Valuation This property is still in the possession of a family member and may be rented for country vacations http www lismacue com index htm Lismany Lismanny Allan Pollok s estate was centred on the property at Lismany In 1856 the buildings there were valued at 10 In 1906 Lismanny was owned by the representatives of John Pollok It was valued at 90 It was sold by the Pollok family in 1924 and demolished some years later Only the cellar of the house together with the ruins of an extensive range of estate buildings now remains at Lismanny However both gatelodges and several other estate houses are still occupied Lismoher Weir writes that this is an 18th century house It was the home of the Armstrong family Occupied by Michael Hynes in the 1850s and valued at 4 Hynes held the property from Edmond J Armstrong The house is still extant Lismore Henry Kenny was leasing a property valued at 8 from Lord Dunsandle in 1855 It was located at Lismore Demesne parish of Clonfert Lismore Castle is shown there on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map By the 1890s this building is in ruins but Lismore Farm M943160 is located nearby Ruins of both buildings are still visible at the site MacLysaght in his 1944 report on the Dunsandle papers notes the existence of deeds relating to Fergus Madden of Lismore Lismore Edward Day Stokes was in possession of the house at Lismore at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 13 10s Bary writes that the house was associated with the Martelli family who were related by marriage to the Blennerhassetts Later it was occupied by Collis and Huggard families It is now a ruin Lismore A house on the Toler estate occupied by John Pepper and valued at 13 in the mid 19th century A building is still located at this site Lismore Castle In 1778 Lismore Castle was the residence of the Daly family Wilson refers it as the seat of Anthony Daly in 1786 It is described as in ruins on 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s Some elements of the demesne are still visible Lismore Castle The castle belonged to Sir Walter Raleigh who sold the property to Sir Richard Boyle in 1602 Charlotte Elizabeth Boyle the daughter and heiress of the 4th Earl of Cork married William Spencer Cavendish 4th Duke of Devonshire and when she died in 1754 the estate passed to the Cavendish family At the time of Griffith s Valuation the castle was valued at 140 The 1943 ITA survey contains an extensive description of the castle and its grounds at that time It has remained in the hands of the Cavendish Devonshire estate housing a prestigous art gallery See www lismorecastle com Lismore House Waterford Leased by Francis O Grady from Waterford Corporation in 1850 when it was valued at 13 Lismore Townparks West In 1851 William Baldwin was leasing this property from the Devonshire estate when it was valued at 11 Lismore Villa Leased by the Devonshire estate to H K Hemming at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 30 It is still extant Lismortagh Matthew N Sankey was residing at Lismortagh in 1814 and John Millett in 1850 Millet held the property from the representatives of William Burgess and the buildings were valued at 17 15 shillings This 18th century house is still a fine residence Lismoyle At the time of Griffith s Valuation Francis Waldron was the owner of a property valued at 12 at Lismoyle barony of Leitrim A house still exists at this site Lismoyle This house dates from circa 1841 when it was the residence of T O Donoghue At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was the home of Patrick O Donoghue who held the property from Mary O Grady Occasionly used as a shooting lodge by the O Grady family and it remained in their possession until the 20th century Lisnabrin A 3 storey 18th century house built by the Crokers on property inherited through marriage with the Coppingers in the 17th century In the mid 19th century occupied by Edward Croker junior son of Walter the house was valued at 33 in the early 1850s Edward Croker died in 1901and Letitia C C Croker is recorded as the occupier in 1906 The property later passed to a relative Captain Walter A Carew The house was a hotel for a short time in the mid 20th century but is once more a family home Lisnabrin Lodge Occupied by Thomas Carew in 1837 and by Sands Bellis who held the house and 28 acres from Thomas Carew in the mid 19th century The buildings were valued at 36 This house is extant occupied and well maintained Lisnagar Originally a home of the MacAdam branch of the Barry family sold to the Lawless brothers in the 1770s and soon afterwards bought by William Tonson In 1786 Wilson refers to the seat of Lord Riversdale close to Rathcormack The house was occupied by the Reverend John Bolster in the early 1850s and valued at 39 15 shillings Slater refers to it as the seat of W A S Riversdale in 1894 William Alcock Stawell succeeded to this property in 1861 and took the additional name of Riversdale Lisnagar was sold in the early 20th century This house is still a residence Lisnagat James Dawson was leasing a property valued at 10 from the representatives of James Baldwin at Lisnagat in 1851 It is still extant part of an extensive farm complex Lisnagat Mills John Wheeler held this property from the Baldwin estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 26 It is labelled Lisnagat cotton mill on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map but does not feature on the 25 inch map of the 1890s Lisnageragh Patrick Power was leasing this property from the College of Physicians estate in 1851 when it was valued at over 17 The property is not visible on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s Lisnagonee or Rattoo West At the time of Griffith s Valuation Wilson Gun was leasing this property to Thomas O Connell when it was valued at 13 5s It is labelled Rattoo House on the 1st edition Ordnance Map but on the later 1890s Map it is named as Rattoo West Bary states that this house is now known as Lisnagonee House It was built by the Gun family though the date is not clear but probably in the eighteenth century It is still extant and occupied Lisnagoorneen Hajba writes that Thomas Franks a nephew of Thomas Franks of Ballymagooly occupied this house at the end of the 18th century He married Margaret Maunsell of Ballybrood county Limerick They and their son were murdered by Whiteboys in 1823 A new house was built by George Foster Delaney in the 1830s and he was succeeded by his nephew George Johnson who occupied the house at the time of Griffith s Valuation It was valued at 17 and held from the representatives of G B Lowe The Johnson remained in possession until the early 20th century leasing the house to Major Mansergh among others In 1942 the Irish Tourist Association survey noted that the Major had owned a famous horse called Lord Cunningham and that Lisnagoorneen house was then occupied by his nephew Lisnalurg House George Robinson was leasing Lisnalurg House from the Wynne estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 14 McTernan notes that it was sometime the accommodation of the estate agent It is still extant and occupied by descendents of the Wynne family Lisnamrock Castle The Langleys were resident here from the 18th century Wilson writing in 1786 refers to Lisnarock as the seat of Mr Langley Henry Langley was the occupier in the mid 19th century holding the property in fee The buildings were valued at 11 10 shillings Held by George Langley in 1906 Buildings still exist at this location Lisnaneane Gormley states that the widow of Dominick O Conor Don lived at Lisnanean after Dominick s death in 1795 Later it was the home of Malachy Madden in 1814 and of Catherine O Conor Don s nephew Robert Nolan and his family in the 1830s No demesne is marked on the first Ordnance Survey map At the time of Griffith s Valuation the house was valued at 5 and was held by Robert Nolan in fee A house still exists at the site Lisnanuran Occupied by Robert Burns at the time of Griffith s Valuation and held from Arthur F Lloyd Lisquinlan A Fitzgerald home occupied by Robert A Fitzgerald in 1814 The Reverend C Harte was the resident in 1837 and the house was unoccupied in the early 1850s when it was valued at 33 Buildings are still extant at this location but the house is in ruins Lisroyne Lodge A house on the outskirts of Strokestown part of the Strokestown House demesne valued at 10 at the time of Griffith s Valuation and occupied by Michael Flynn Some buildings are still extant at the site Liss Ard Built in the later nineteenth century Lissard was owned by The O Donovan and valued at 90 in 1906 The Irish Tourist Association survey of 1943 mentioned that it was then the property of John Connolly It is still extant and offered as luxury accommodation The gardens are open to the public See www lissardestate com Liss Cottage James F Bland was leasing a house valued at 5 to David Jermyn at the time of Griffith s Valuation This appears to be Liss Cottage which Bary states was a residence of the Jermyn family for a long time There is still a house at this site though it may have been altered Lissa Originally a Nash home which passed to Admiral Henry Evans a younger brother of Nicholas Green Evans following his marriage to Elizabeth Nash in 1801 Hajba writes that it was occupied by Hugh Norcott in the early 19th century Captain Croker was resident in 1837 and Charles Croker in the early 1850s He held the property from the Admiral s son Nicholas Evans and it was valued at 32 The home of the Kerr family in the 20th century For details of the Croker occupation see see http members iinet net au nickred croker research The Irish CROKER pdf page 65 Lissacaha Cottage Phillip Somerville held this property in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 12 10s It is labelled Lissacaha Cottage on the 1st edition Ordnance Map but has become Prairie Cottage on the later 25 inch map In 1906 it was owned by Thomas Phillip Somerville and valued at 15 5s It is no longer extant Lissadell or Lissadill The Gore Booth family built the first Lissadell House between 1750 1760 in front of the current house The current house was built in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth century and continued to be the home of the Gore Booth family until the 1990s In 1906 the house and buildings were valued at 347 The house has been open to the public for many years It is now owned by E Walsh and C Cassidy and is being restored See www lissadellhouse com Lissadorn Lissadorn was a Crofton home from the mid 17th century It became a Lloyd home in the 18th century following the marriage of Catherine Crofton and John Yeadon Lloyd in 1786 By 1814 Joseph Healy was living at Lisadurn Burke s Landed Gentry of Ireland 1904 records the second son of Walter Balfe of Heathfield as John Balfe of Lissadorn J Balfe was residing at Lissadorn in 1837 At the time of Griffith s Valuation Bernard Balfe held Lissadorn valued at 20 from Viscount Lorton It is no longer extant On the first Ordnance Survey map 1838 the demesne included a smaller house named Ryefield Lissadrone Described at the time of the first Ordnance Survey as a plain building ornamented with a few trees and shrubs and held on a lease for ever In the 1850s it was occupied by Matthew Flynn and is now a ruin Lissanacody The Pollok estate held a steward and caretakers houses at Lissanacody barony of Longford at the time of Griffith s Valuation valued at 6 between them In 1906 the property was part of the estate of the John Pollok s representatives and was valued at 7 Molloy writes that these buildings which were unoccupied at the time were damaged by fire in 1854 Some farm buildings remain at the site Lissanisky The home of a branch of the Pepper family in the 19th century occupied by Simon Pepper in 1814 by R Smithwick in 1837 The Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to it as a good dwelling house the residence of Mr Pepper It was occupied by Theobald Pepper and Brothers in the early 1850s This house was held from the Honourable O F G Toler and was valued at 25 10 shillings It is still extant and occupied Lissardagh The residence of William Baldwin at the time of Griffith s Valuation held by him in fee and valued at 20 There is still a house extant at this location Lissava House In 1840 the Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to Lissava House as the residence of John Egan He was recorded among the gentry of Caher in Slater s Directory 1846 He also the occupier in the early 1850s when he was leasing it from the Earl of Glengall s estate The buildings were valued at 12 A house is still extant at

    Original URL path: http://www.landedestates.ie/LandedEstates/jsp/property-list.jsp?letter=L (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Landed Estates Database
    replaced the castle by a house which was altered and extended over the years In 1786 Wilson refers to it as the very magnificent seat of Lord Kingsborough In the 1820s the 3rd Earl built a new castle in anticipation of a visit from George IV which never happened This was a huge building in the Gothic Revival style valued at 180 in the mid 19th century It remained in the possession of the Kings until the death of Lady Kingston widow of the 5th Earl In 1922 the castle was looted and burnt and the stones were later used to build a church at Mount Melleray In 1943 the Irish Tourist Association Survey provided a detailed description of the castle and its history and noted that portion of the cellars and foundations were still visible Moat A property in the townland of Moat parish of Killimorbologue valued at 9 was being leased from the Clanricarde estate by John Donnelly in 1856 The house was demolished in the later half of the twentieth century and no traces remain Moat Lodge Built by the Digby family in the mid 19th century Home of the Gilmores in the mid 20th century and now of Mr and Mrs Jarlath Donnellon In the Blake of Ballyglunin Papers Thomas Murphy in a letter to Martin J Blake dated 1837 refers to his involvement in the building of a house at Moate for Mr Digby National Archives M6936 38 29 Moatville Located on the outskirts of Charleville this house was occupied by Mrs Ryan in 1837 and of Michael Ryan at the time of Griffith s Valuation Moatville was later the birthplace of Dr Reeves Bishop of Down Connor and Dromore In the 1940s the Irish Tourist Association Survey described it as a quaint high house the residence of Mr Ball It is still extant Mobarnan Mobarnan was the seat of the Jacob family in the 18th and 19th centuries Occupied by Samuel Jacob in 1814 M Jacob in 1837 and by Samuel Jacob at the time of Griffith s Valuation He held the property in fee and the buildings were valued at 37 Later the home of the Tennant family This house was enlarged in the early 19th century and is still in use as a residence In the 1970s it was owned by Major Marcus William Keane formerly of Beech Park and his wife Anne R Armitage of Noan Co Tipperary Mocollop Castle Mocollop Castle was in ruins by the time of Griffith s Valuation though buildings at the site were valued at 31 They were held in fee by Captain James Barry In 1786 Wilson refers to it as the seat of Dr Drew In 1906 the buildings at this location were in the possession of Henry Drew MD and valued at 32 The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage reports that the buildings there were in ruins in the early part of the 21st century Modreeny Lewis records W H Head as the proprietor of Modreeny House in 1837 He was still resident at the time of Griffith s Valuation and held the house valued at 35 in fee Burke s Landed Gentry of Ireland 1904 records William Henry Head s father as of Modreeny House In 1906 the representatives of George Whitfield were the occupiers and the house was valued at 36 10 shillings George Whitfield of Modreeny owned 443 acres in the 1870s In 1890 his daughter Kathleen married Sir Francis Osborne Baronet This house was bought by Donald Swan in 1965 and Charlie Swan champion jockey was born at Modreeny in 1968 Modreeny House In 1786 Wilson refers to Moderenny as the seat of Sir Amyrald Dancer The Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to the house as Eminisky House in 1841 but it is marked on the first edition map as Modreeny House and was the home of the Dancer family It was replaced by a new house circa 1920s The outbuildings gates and gatelodge of the original house still remain At the time of Griffith s Valuation Sir Thomas B Dancer held this property in fee The buildings were valued at 21 Hussey gives Modreeny House as the address of Sir Thomas Dancer in 1878 Mogeely House A house on the Devonshire estate occupied by Charles H Walsh in the mid 19th century and valued at 25 18 shillings Later the home of the Des Barres and Kent families Slater refers to it as the seat of Lt Col Des Barres in 1894 Still a family residence It is labelled Mogeely Castle on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map but as Mogeely House on the later editions Moglass House Moglass valued at 11 was held by John Riall from George Riall at the time of Griffith s Valuation It is described as in ruins on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s Mohanagh Lodge Andrew McGill was leasing this property from Lady Carbery s estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 10 15s In 1814 Leet referred to it as the seat of Richard Marmion A house still exists at the site Moher House A Macnamara property occupied by James Gorman in 1814 and by Peter Scales at the time of Griffith s Valuation when the house was valued at 7 J Macnamara was residing at Moher in 1837 but it is not clear whether this was Moher House or Lodge John Macnamara of Moher younger brother of William N Macnamara of Doolin is well documented in the Stacpoole Kenny Papers A house is still extant at this site Moher Lodge A Macnamara property occupied by Patrick E O Reilly at the time of Griffith s Valuation Some ruined buildings remain at the site Mohera Hajba writes that Michael Mackay was recorded as resident here in 1824 By 1837 John O Sullivan was resident and was still the occupier at the time of Griffith s Valuation The buildings were then valued at 14 and the property was held from Major General Conyers Home of the McAuliffes in the 20th century Mohill Castle At the time of Griffith s Valuation John Kane was leasing a property valued at 20 from Sir M Crofton in the town of Mohill Mohober Mohober was occupied by Scott Esq in the 1770s and 1780s It was the home of the Cormick family in the 19th century Richard Cormick was resident in the early 1850s holding the property from the Earl of Clonmel The buildings were valued at 14 15 shillings In the 1870s Daniel Cormack of Mohober owned 189 acres in county Tipperary The sale rental of the interest of James P Welply in the house and demesne of Mohober dated July 1868 records that the property was conveyed to Daniel Welply by the Encumbered Estates Commissioners in May 1856 The original lease dated 1766 was from William Cane to Mark Scott The Cormac interest in this property was advertised for sale in June 1876 Buildings are still extant at this site Molahiffe Castle At the time of Griffith s Valuation Maurice de Coursey was leasing a property in the townland of Castlefarm from the Kenmare estate which had a valuation of almost 6 It is likely to have been the house labelled on both the 1st and later 25 inch edition Ordnance Survey Maps as Molahiffe Castle The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage states that this house was built in the mid eighteenth century In 1943 the Irish Tourist Association Survey highlights the close links between Molahiffe and the Browne family who it says resided in the area until the building of the first Killarney House The remains of the original Molahiffe castle are located a short distance from the present house now known as Castlefarm House Molahiffe House Eliza Griffin was the lessor of this property at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at almost 6 and vacant In 1837 Lewis mentions Boucheens as the residence of Montague Griffin Bary states that this is a very old house and is widely believed to be one of the earliest homes of the Browne family later Lords Kenmare It is still extant and occupied Mollaneen House Weir writes that this was an 18th century house Dysert was occupied by Thady Brew in 1814 At the time of Griffith s Valuation George Fitzgerald held a house valued at 5 from Francis H Synge in the townland of Mollaneen Local sources suggest that this house was frequently occupied by the agent to the Synge estate Weir writes that the roof of the house was removed in the mid 20th century It has however since been restored and is now known again as Mollaneen House Monaincha Lewis describes Monaincha in 1837 as an elegant villa in the Italianate style the residence of G Birch Mrs G Birch was living at Monaincha in the early 1850s whens the buildings were valued at 22 10 shillings Occuppied by Harriet F Miller in 1906 The house is still a fine residence close to Roscrea Monaloo This house was built post Griffith s Valuation In the 1870s Charles Nason of Monaloo House Tallow owned 797 acres in county Cork It is still extant Monamintra Mrs Johanna Lyons was leasing this property from Lord Fortescue s estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 10 An extensive farm occupies the site now Monanimy Castle In the mid 19th century William Barry occupied Monanimy Castle which was valued at 15 10 shilllings and held from George Bennett Hajba writes that Barry restored the castle and that he was related to the Nagles who had originally owned the castle The Barrys remained as residents of the castle until the 1940s when the castle was damaged by a fire It has been restored and is now a family home Monaquil Burke s Landed Gentry of Ireland 1904 records Philip Going of Monaquil sixth son of Robert and Jane Going In 1767 Philip married Grace Bernard Their grandson Reverend Philip Going Atkins Going succeeded to the Monaquil property by the will of his maternal grandfather who died in 1820 Monaquil was occupied by the Atkins family in 1837 In 1840 the Ordnance Survey Name Books record that Mr O Shea proprietor states that he has nothing to do now ith Monaquil it is under the Courts and that the house was then occupied by a Mrs Bennett It was vacant at the time of Griffith s Valuation when Reverend Hastings Atkins was the immediate lessor and the house was valued at 19 The Butler sale rental of 1866 records a fee farm grant dated 19 May 1859 John Butler to Reverend Philip Going Atkins Going The Atkins sale rental of 1877 records the leasing of Monaquil to Robert William Henry Roe in 1864 The original house marked on the first edition Ordnance Survey Map was replaced by another house slightly to the north in the late 19th century Monaster House This house was the home of Michael Furnell in 1803 By 1814 the house on the Vandeleur estate was leased to John Cantillon Heffernan At the time of Griffith s Valuation the buildings at Monaster were valued at 35 and leased by John Cantillon from the Vandeleur estate In 1943 the Irish Tourist Association surveyor refers to a story concerning ghostly activities and that the house had been pulled down a short time previously Much of the farmyard building complex survives Monatray In 1851 Pierce S Smith Smyth a minor held Monatray in fee when it was valued at 35 In 2013 it was offered for sale The sale details suggest it was built by Percy Smyth of Headborough as a summer residence in the 1830s In the twentieth century it was occupied by a religious order and later a country house club before returning to private ownership in the 1980s In recent years the house name is spelt Monatrae In 2014 Monatrae was offered for sale Mondellihy Occupied by George Fosberry at the time of Griffith s Valuation held from the Earl of Dunraven and valued at 15 By the end of the 19th century this house was the home of Peter David Fitzgerald 1855 1935 a younger son of George Fitzgerald 1st Baron Fitzgerald of Valencia and grandson of the Knight of Kerry Moneen Richard Splaine was leasing this property in 1851 from the Baldwin estate when it was valued at 18 Moneenroe Drummaan House At the time of Griffith s Valuation Anthony Holland was leasing a property valued at 6 from James Egan at Drummaan East barony of Leitrim county Galway This seems to correspond to the property labelled Moneenroe on the 1st edition OS map Other members of the Holland family were leasing lands from Egan in the same townland On the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s this house is labelled Drummaan the previous house of that name having disappeared There is still an extant house at this site which is now located in county Clare Moneygold At the time of Griffith s Valuation Moneygold was leased by the Fawcett family from Viscount Palmerston s estate and was valued at 13 Lewis records it as the residence of the Soden family in 1837 McTernan notes that it was the seat of the family from the early eighteenth century when James Soden leased almost 1000 acres from the Temple estate In 1906 it was the property of Major G M Eccles whose mother was Isabella Soden The house was damaged in a storm in the early 1960s and subsequently demolished Monivea An O Kelly tower house acquired by the ffrenches in the early 17th century who made additions in the 18th century Held in fee by Robert French at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 40 In 1894 Slater refers to it as the seat of Acheson French In 1938 it was bequeathed by Kathleen French to the State as a home for artists subsequently demolished and now only the original tower remains A mausoleum modelled on the tower house and constructed at the end of the nineteenth century is located in the adjacent woodland Monksfield The house at Monksfield had originally belonged to the Morgan family who were of Welsh origin Evidence from the 17th century records shows that they acquired land in this area in the later 17th century In 1837 Lewis recorded Monksfield as the seat of Capt Morgan It had to be sold in the mid 19th century due to debts By the 1850s it was the residence of Thomas Shawe Taylor In 1906 it was owned by Walter Shawe Taylor and was valued at 14 Kelly writing in 1976 indicated that the estate was sold to the tenants around 1908 After the estate was divided the house continued to be occupied well into the twentieth century but is now a ruin surrounded by farmland Monkstown Castle Built by a Mrs Archdeacon in the 17th century Monkstown Castle was the home of the Shaw family in the 19th century and held from the de Vesci family In the early 1850s Robert Bernard Shaw was resident and the buildings were valued at 54 In the possession of the Monkstown Golf Club for much of the 20th century currently being restored by private owners see http monkstowncastle com Monkstown castle history htm Monroe Monroe was the residence of Robert Young in 1814 and Lewis describes it as the neat cottage residence of R Power Pierce Power held the property in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation when the house was valued at 37 Occupied by Hamo Massy Power in 1906 Yard buildings remain at this site Monroe Glebe House In 1851 Rev William Giles was leasing this property from the Devonshire estate when it was valued at 28 Recorded as rectory on the 25 inch map of the 1890s There is still a house at this site Monroe House Charles Browne was occupying this house in the early 1850s He held it from the Earl of Glengall and the buildings were valued at 10 A house and farm are still extant at the site Montevideo House A house marked on the first edition Ordnance Survey map and occupied by Francis Smallman in the mid 19th century when the buildings were valued at 20 and held from the Earl of Portarlington The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage names this house Beechmount Montpellier A house occupied by the Reverend Morgan O Donovan in 1837 and by Morgan O Donovan in the early 1850s The house was held in fee by the O Donovans and was valued at 55 There is no trace of this house now as modern development has taken place in the area Monyvroe In 1851 Edmund Power held this property from Lord Decies estate when it was valued at 11 10s There are still extant buildings at the site Moor Park Occupied by Giles Eyre Lambert at the time of Griffith s Valuation when he was leasing it from Walter Lambert It was valued at 20 Later the seat of Frank Shawe Taylor who was assassinated nearby in 1920 There is still a large house at Moor Park though the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage indicates that this is not the original house Moorbrook In 1786 Wilson refers to Moore field as the seat of Mr Moore Leet s Directory records Moorfield as an unoccupied seat in 1814 The house appears however to have become known as Moorbrook as it is thus labelled on the Ordnance Survey maps Henry Wills held Moorbrook at the time of the sale in 1854 At the time of Griffith s Valuation it is described as a herd s house and occupied by Francis O Grady It is labelled as in ruins on the 25 inch Ordnance survey map of the 1890s A modern house has been constructed near the site Moore Hall Built in 1795 and burnt down in 1923 The residence of George Henry Moore MP at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 45 Slater refers to it as the seat of George A Moore in 1894 The ruin is now owned by Coillte Teoranta Moorehill Held in fee by William Moore at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 55 Lewis also refers to it as his seat in 1837 Wilson writing in 1786 notes it a the seat of Rev Mr Moore In 1894 and 1906 it was the property of Captain William Perceval Maxwell and valued at over 70 In 1943 the ITA survey noted it as the residence of Captain Maxwell and mentioned that it was an eighteenth century house It is still extant and occupied Moorepark A large Georgian house the seat of the Earls of Mountcashell extended in the 19th century In 1786 Wilson describes it as a superb and noble seat It was held in fee at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 87 Bought by the War Department in 1903 and accidentally burnt in 1908 In 1944 the Irish Tourist Association Survey noted that the remains of the kitchen were still visible then Nothing remains of the original house and the site now belongs to Teagasc the Agricultural and Food Development Authority Mooresfort The home of the Crosbie Moore family in the 18th and early 19th century Wilson refers to Moore s fort as the handsome seat of Edward Moore in 1786 Lewis records Maurice Crosbie Moore as resident in 1837 At the time of Griffith s Valuation Edward C Moore was still in possession of Mooresfort However it was advertised for sale in 1852 and sold to Charles Moore of county Antrim who altered and remodelled the house reducing it from a 3 storey to a 2 storey house The house remained in the possession of this family into the 20th century It is now the main residence on a working farm Moorfield Cottage Jeremiah Rogers a steward on the Gore Booth estate was occupying this property at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 5 10s McTernan states that it remained in the Rogers family until the early decades of the twentieth century It is still extant and occupied Moorfield House In 1778and 1786 this house was the residence of the Blake family Moorfield was a steward s house on the Eyre estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation In April 1869 the Eyre s Moorfield estate including the house was offered for sale in the Landed Estates court In 1906 it was owned by James Howard Jnr and was valued at 28 The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage suggests that the extant house at Moorfield is of late nineteenth century date Morgans North The Rose family were resident here in the early 18th century Later a residence of the Sandes family of Queen s county occupied by William Sands at the time of Griffith s Valuation who held the property from Charles L Sands The buildings were valued at 15 This house was also known as Mount Pleasant Lewis records Mrs Morgan as the resident in 1837 Hone of the O Dells in the early 20th century and later bought by the Keane family Mortlestown Castle Captain James G Jacob was the occupant of Mortlestown Castle in 1814 By the time of Griffith s Valuation Thomas P Lloyd was resident holding the property from Robert Jacob The house was valued at 29 Buildings are still located at this site Mosestown In 1786 Wilson notes a house on the left of Whitegate as the seat of Charles Allen This may refer to the house labelled Mosestown House on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was occupied by Edmund Roche son of Francis Roche of Rochemount The house was valued at 21 and held from Edmond B Roche Edmund was a distinguished soldier rising to the rank of Major General and married Anna Matilda daughter of the Reverend Austen of Hadwell Lodge In 1894 Slater recorded a house known as Ballymonis as the seat of General Edmund Roche Mosestown is labelled Ballymonis on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s It is no longer extant Moss Hill Occupied by Peter Conry in 1814 and by Captain Conry in 1837 Mossfort A house labelled Caherakeeny is shown here on the First ediiton Ordnance Survey map It was valued at 12 and occupied by John Kilkelly at the time of Griffith s Valuation The present house was constructed in the late nineteenth century and is labelled Mossfort on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s Mossgrove Held in fee by Samuel Baldwin in 1851 when it had a valuation of 20 Also noted as his residence by Lewis in 1837 Mossgrove seems to have pre dated Mount Pleasant as the Baldwin residence in this area There is still an extant house at this site Mossgrove Lower Mossgrove Lower appears on the 1st edition Ordnance Survey map close to the site of a fortified house dating from the early modern period which is recorded as in ruins by the 1830s In 1851 Henry Baldwin was leasing the property here to Thomas Barter when it was valued at 9 Leet notes a property at Mossgrove as the residence of Robert Popham in 1814 It was no longer extant by the publication of the 25 inch map of the 1890s Mota This house dates from about 1800 Edward Cambie was resident at Mota in 1814 and T Pepper Roberts in 1837 and afterwards The Ornance Survvey Name Books mention that it was his residence in 1840 and that Thomas Sadlier was the proprietor Mota and 478 acres the estate of Theobald Pepper Roberts was advertised for sale in May 1850 George Taylor occupied the house valued at 15 10 shillings in the mid 19th century He held it from Peter Byrne Marcus Tuthill lived here later This house is still occupied Mote Park The home of the Crofton family from the 17th century valued at 140 in 1906 Saunders Newsletter dated 17 May 1865 refers to a fire at Mote Park which badly burnt the house The house was demolished in the 1960s Roscommon Golf Club occupies part of the original Mote Park demesne Mough Mough was one of the original properties held by the Lawder family from their arrival in the Leitrim area Burke suggests that Mough afterwards became Lawderdale but map evidence would suggest that they were separate though adjacent properties At the time of Griffith s Valuation the house was valued at 18 Mount Allen House Lough Allen Cottage Lewis records Lough Allen Cottage as the seat of Hugh McTernan in 1837 At the time of Griffith s Valuation this townland was leased by Richard H Gorghes from Arthur O Conor It included a house valued at 7 10s This building is labelled Mount Allen House on the 25 inch Ordnance Survey map of the 1890s Mount Alto Mrs Hannah Paul was leasing this property from Lord Carew s estate in 1848 when it was valued at almost 36 It is still extant and has been refubished while the coach house has been converted into self catering accommodation See www mountalto com Mount Baylee In 1837 the residence of H Bayley Occupied by Susannah Baylee at the time of Griffith s Valuation who held it from Henry Thomas Baylee The buildings were valued at 8 Weir writes that in the 20th century Miss Edie Baylee married the father of the architect Percy le Clerc The house is still lived in Mount Beamish John Beamish was leasing this property to Rev John Baldwin at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 15 In 1837 Lewis records it as the seat of J Beamish Leet noted it as the seat of Rev Samuel Beamish in 1814 Farm buildings exist at the site now Mount Beresford In 1848 William Manning was leasing this property from Lord Waterford s estate when it was valued at almost 10 There is still an extant house at the site Shaw Mason s Parochial Survey notes it as the seat of Mr Maguire A house is still extant at the site Mount Bernard William Bernard was leasing this property from the Devonshire estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 15 10s A house is still extant at this site Mount Blakeney Mount Blakeney is south west of the town of Kilmallock and very close to the border between counties Limerick and Cork No large house is marked in the townlands of Mount Blakeney or Thomastown on the first Ordnance Survey map Sheet 47 but a castle is marked in the townland of Mount Blakeney on the Discovery map No 73 In 1786 Wilson refers to Mount Blakeney as the seat of Mr Blakeney At the time of Griffith s Valuation the townlands were in the possession of Mrs Blakeney Fitzgerald Grid Reference is approximate Mount Brown The main residence of the Brown family of Rathkeale until Castle Matrix was restored in the 1830s Held by them in fee the buildings were valued at 23 at the time of Griffith s Valuation The mansion house at Dromard was occupied by John Walker circa 1840 In 1906 the house was occupied by the representatives of Col Edward Browne Mount Browne A house built in the early 18th century and used by the first generations of Brownes at Westport Wilson describes it as the seat of Mr Browne in 1786 It was later occupied by Denis Browne Member of Parliament brother of the 1st Marquess of Sligo and other family members It was leased by John D Browne from the Marquess of Sligo s estate at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 30 The Irish Tourist Association file of the 1940s states that the mansion had been demolished Mount Browne The home of the Cullinane family for about the last 200 years and still occupied by them The house is reputed to be about 300 years old and was undergoing renovation in 2007 The outbuildings are well maintained Mount Browne At the time of Griffith s Valuation occupied by George Browne who held the property from James G Plunkett valued at 25 The sale rental of the Gunning Plunkett estate in June 1857 states that Mount Browne was held by a fee farm grant from Jane Plunkett mother and guardian of the owner to George Browne dated 30 Oct 1852 Occupied by the representatives of Arthur Browne in 1894 and 1906 Mount Bruis The Inventory of Irish Architectural Heritage dates this house from the mid 18th century It was occupied by Doherty Esq in the 1770s and in 1786 The residence of Edmund Scully in 1814 Mrs Doherty in 1837 and Thomas Dwyer in the early 1850s Dwyer held the property from Irwing Bagnell and the buildings were valued at 25 In 1840 the Ordnance Survey Name Books described it as a very old building and in middling repair It is still extant Mount Callan The original house was built by Lieutenant Colonel Charles Synge in the early 19th century but the present house was built in the 1870s The property passed to the Tottenham family by the marriage of his daughter Mary to Robert Tottenham of Ballycurry county Wicklow and is still in the possession of this family The buildings were valued at 30 in 1906 Mount Campbell Josias Rowley was leasing the property at Mount Campbell valued at 35 to William A Lawder at the time of Griffith s Valuation Slater refers to it as the seat of William S Lawder in 1894 In 1906 William Rowley owned the mansion at Mount Campbell valued at 40 The house is no longer extant Mount Catherine A house on the Lloyd Apjohn estate the home of the Smithwick family from about the mid 18th century and occupied by Michael Smithwick in the early 1850s when the house was valued at 24 The Smithwicks of Mount Catherine and the Lloyd Apjohns were related through at least one marriage Mount Congreve Built and owned by the Congreve family from the mid eighteenth century Wilson states that it was the pleasant seat of John Congreve in 1786 Leet refers to it as the seat of Captain Fleming in 1814 At the time of Griffith s Valuation in 1850 Mount Congreve was held in fee by John Congreve when it was valued at 68 10s It is still extant though a sale of the house contents took place on the premises in July 2012 Mount Coote The county Limerick seat of the Coote family in the 18th and 19th centuries Wilson refers to it as the pleasant seat of Mr Coote in 1786 It was occupied by Chidley Coote in 1814 Lewis refers to it as the former seat of Chidley Coote in 1837 Charles Coote was resident at the time of Griffith s Valuation and held the property in fee The buildings were valued at 53 Their value had increased to 65 by 1906 The Irish Tourist Association surveyor wrote in 1943 that the house was bought by Sir Gilbert Greenall who became 1st Lord Daresbury who spent about 200 000 setting up a Model Farm Lord Daresbury also owned Clonshire Following his death three years previously it was sold and then run as a stud farm Bence Jones writes that this house was demolished circa 1960 and a new house built in the Georgian style Mount Corbitt Home of the Glover family in the first half of the 19th century Hajba writes that the Glover s sold their lease to the Anderson family in the early 1850s In the early 20th century it became the home of the O Brien family and is still occupied Mount Cross This was the home of the Pearson family held from Edward Townsend inhabited by Mrs Pearson in 1837 and John Pearson in the early 1850s when the buildings were valued at 11 Mary Pearson of Mount Cross owned 199 acres in county Cork in the 1870s Archives relating to the Pearson family are located in Leeds University Library The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage suggests the house was originally built by a Mr Godfrey a local mill owner in the early eighteenth century Mount Desert The home of the Dunscombe family in the 18th and 19th centuries it was noted by Wilson as the seat of Mr Dunscombe in 1786 The house was occupied by George Dunscombe in 1814 and by Nicholas Dunscombe in the early 1850s when it was valued at 55 Still valued at the same amount in 1906 when it was occupied by Robert Dunscombe The house is no longer extant and the Bon Secours Health Care unit is now located at this site Mount Dillon Lewis writes that the house was situated on an isolated hill and formed a conspicuous object in the surrounding scenery Valued at 15 in the mid 19th century Wilson in 1786 refers to it as the seat of Mr Dillon In the possession of Samuel Russell in 1906 when the buildings were valued at 3 It is no longer extant Mount Dodwell Henry Crichton was the owner of a property valued at almost 7 at Ballinvoher barony of Corran in 1906 This may be the cottage which is still extant and was possibly a steward s house At the time of Griffith s Valuation it was being leased by Samuel Gilmore from the Creighton estate and was valued at 5 Lewis records Mount Dodwell as the residence of Charles Thompson who was related to the Dodwell family This was the original house which had stood here since the eighteenth century It ceased to be a residence in the mid nineteenth century and was subsequently demolished Mount Druid Denis O Conor s house at Mount Druid barony of Castlereagh was valued at 35 at the time of Griffith s Valuation In 1814 and 1837 the house was the seat of Matthew O Conor Slater refers to it as the seat of Charles M O Conor in 1894 A modest house survives at the site of Mount Druid but the stable yard remains are more elaborate Fine trees still exist in the former demesne land Mount Druid Gaultiere William Roberts was leasing this property from the Marquis of Waterford s estate in 1848 when it was valued at 14 In 1837 Lewis noted it as the seat of Mr Reynett There is still an extant house at the site Mount Dudley A house close to the town of Roscrea and marked on the first edition Ordnance Survey map In the mid 19th century occupied by Samuel Dudley valued at 17 and held with 29 acres from the Earl of Portarlington The home of Thomas Ely in the 1870s This house is extant and occupied Mount Eagle Lodge Major Fairfield was the owner of Mount Eagle at the time of Griffith s Valuation when it was valued at 10 15s Bary writes that it was built by him in 1830 and Lewis recorded it as his residence in 1837 The Ordnance Survey Name Books describe it as a handsome cottage It was most frequently used as a hunting lodge Later in the nineteenth century it was the property of Colonel Drummond and resided in by his agent Mr Black In 1906 it was owned by Charles Drummond and valued at 12 The property was eventually sold to the Forestry service in the mid twentieth century when the house was demolished Mount Edward Cottage Both the Ordnance Survey Field Name Books and Griffith s Valuation record a property at Mount Edward as belonging to

    Original URL path: http://www.landedestates.ie/LandedEstates/jsp/property-list.jsp?letter=M (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive