archive-ie.com » IE » I » INSIDEIRELAND.IE

Total: 549

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Clarke out, Woods in 3rd place: Halfway review of 141st Open » Inside Ireland
    finisher Thorbjorn Olesen whose birdie birdie finish gave the 21 year old Dane a second round of 66 to be on four under par Irish Graeme Mc Dowell is the leading Irishman at four under par The County Antrim man fired a 69 to lie tied for fifth place with Paul Lawrie Jason Dufner Matt Kuchar and Thomas Aitken six shots off Snedeker s lead Rory McIlroy carded a five over par 75 which included just two birdies five bogies and a double bogie That five came at the par three ninth where the County Down star needed two shots to get out of a deep bunker The former US Open champion is on two over par for the tournament and will be around for the weekend as will Dubliner Pádraig Harrington The two time open winner started out with a birdie two following an excellent tee shot to the first He could only manage one more birdie at the eighth but went out in a tidy 32 He came home in 40 though to finish tied with McIlroy and 15 others on two over par tied for 51st place Last year s champion Darren Clarke is out however Despite a decent display on Friday his first round 76 left him too much to do and he finished on seven over County Antrim s other golfers British Amateur Champion Alan Dunbar and Michael Hoey also miss the cut after finishing on 6 and 14 respectively Making the Cut The cut finally came in at three over par Some players left it all to do at the last with Greg Owen holing his second on the 18th for an eagle two A par four on the 18th would have sent him home Open legend Tom Watson almost went home after a rushed par attempt on the 17th He had played an extraordinary second shot from the fairway bunker on the 17th to set up an unlikely birdie At three over par a birdie would give him a cushion going up the last A three putt bogie was very costly and at four over par he was going home An excellent drive and iron at the 18th gave him a chance and of course the man who finished second here only three years ago duly holed the 30 foot putt for a birdie three The 62 year old five time Open Champion then had to wait to see if his 72 was enough to get him in for the weekend It was just Goodbye to all that Saying goodbye to the Open for this year are former champions over the links of Lytham Tom Lehman and David Duval Also missing the cut were former winners Stewart Cink Sandy Lyle Todd Hamilton Darren Clarke Justin Leonard and Ben Curtis Other major winners bowing out of this year s Open are YE Yang Charl Schwartzel Martin Kaymer Trevor Immelman Davis Love III Phil Mickelson Lucas Glover and Angel Cabrera Nice Gesture of the Tournament

    Original URL path: http://insideireland.ie/2012/07/21/clarke-out-woods-in-3rd-place-halfway-review-of-141st-open-77628/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Six Irish trying to win Open: 141st Open Championship Preview » Inside Ireland
    it s fitting that I get to play my first Major as a professional on the course where my dreams came true as an amateur I m looking forward to it anyway and hoping to do well added the Dunhill Links Champion The other Irishman in the field is new British Amateur Champion Alan Dunbar from Rathmore Golf Glub the same club as McDowell eager to make the cut in his first Major The Course Royal Lytham St Annes is the only Open course which begins with a par 3 which has the first of 200 plus bunkers It is a par 70 course and is hosting the first Open since 2001 when David Duval triumphed over the 7 086 yard links Draws and selected Tee Times Barry Lane and James Driscoll tee off at twenty past six in the morning and so begin the 141st Open One hour later 1995 Champion John Daly begins his attempt for a third major in a group featuring Michael Hoey The 0842 group has Adam Scott and County Antrim s Dunbar with American Matt Kuchar Just after nine in the morning the big groups come out just as the BBC begins its marathon coverage Spectators would do well to position themselves on the first tee for some exciting groups over the following hour At nine minutes past last year s popular winner Clarke defends his title with major winners Ernie Els and Zach Johnston After an eleven minute interval the next draw features Lee Westwood and current Masters champion 33 year old Bubba Watson The 55 1 shot hopes to become the second left hander to win the Open and become the first since Tiger Woods in 2005 to win the Masters and Open in the one year At 0931 Dustin Johnston 50 1 to win was in the final group with Clarke last year and with McDowell when he won the US Open The man who was also in the running for the 2010 USPGA finds himself with the man who triumphed at Pebble Beach two years ago McDowell Also in the three ball is Hiroyuki Fujita The next group is a juicy one with a certain Mr Woods favourite for this playing alongside Justin Rose and Sergio Garcia both bidding for their first major At seven minutes to ten Ryo Ishikawa and Martin Kaymer have the honour of being paired with the great Tom Watson the man who gave us one of the great stories in sport in 2009 when he had a putt at 59 years of age to win his sixth Open on the place where he beat Jack Nicklaus in the Duel in the Sun 32 years before The afternoon has some interesting groups with Rory McIlroy bidding for some level of form in this year s majors as he tees of at 14 21 The 2011 US Open Champion plays with the 2010 Open champion and the runner up to Bubba in the Masters Louis Oosthuizen and

    Original URL path: http://insideireland.ie/2012/07/17/six-irish-trying-to-win-open-141st-open-championship-preview-77042/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • A weekend in London, Mud and a Wimbledon Winner » Inside Ireland
    can hear you already you went to a festival without wellies Well yes in the packing process I did omit the practical footwear of all festival goers in order to make room for such important things like another dress or two Priorities and all that Well I can let you know I have learnt from my mistake going to a festival in a pair of brogues was not my brightest idea the mud was everywhere and however I did manage to not fall on my face and thoroughly enjoyed partying with 65 000 people to Labyrinth Calvin Harris to name a few acts a review is to follow soon Great blog so far I know but the best is yet to come Leaving Hyde Park covered in mud and smelling delightful we decided to take a walk down Mayfair when we stumbled across the Intercontinental hotel which is where all Wimbledon stars stay now contain yourselves please we didn t see Andy Murray and we had just missed Serena Williams but we did get to meet the seven time winner Mr Roger Federer Yes you read correctly he came out dressed in tux looking beautiful and a little shorter in real life than on the TV but who cares about that he looked very impressed with my muddy look and even gave us a little smile and wave I will admit I did go a little weak at the knees and it certainly made our weekend a little more glamorous Comments Comments are closed Latest Blog Blog Involvement in elections is a most remarkable wearying voluntary thing yet it is democracy in action With the British General Election over and Dáil by elections on 22nd May this month s blog looks at the experience of someone who has worked in

    Original URL path: http://insideireland.ie/2012/07/10/a-weekend-in-london-mud-and-a-wimbledon-winner-76620/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • 57th Irish Open Preview » Inside Ireland
    Mc Dowell fresh from his second place at the US Open Ballymoney born Michael Hoey has already won this year at the Trophée Hassan II in Morocco He is delighted with the tweaks that have been made to the course in preparation for the first Irish Open in Northern Ireland in 65 years I would have laid odds they would have made the golf course a bit short but they have produced some really good course design said the reigning Alfred Dunhill Links Champion They have put a few tees just far enough back and it s soft conditions at the minute which means it s playing long So I think this course is now set up just perfectly and visually it s great It s just pure great links a bit like St Andrews It s really good Another local hero is Rathmore golf club s Alan Dunbar who is the British Amateur Champion after his travails at Royal Troon Another of the four amateurs in the field in Ballymena s Dermot McElroy 19 who hopes to make the cut at the event Ballyclare s Gareth Maybin is also hoping to do well in his home county while County Tyrone s Darren Clarke the Open Champion who is now associated with Portrush is hoping to do well over a very familiar course Other Irish All the hype will be on County Down s Rory Mc Ilroy who is trying to make his mark following a missed cut trying to defend his US Open title One man who hopes to win again at this event is Dubliner Pádraig Harrington who won in 2007 after a play off with Bradley Dredge Even for a player who has never played golf in Ireland and it s his first time here and the Irish Open has no particular significance to him he would eventually be excited to win this tournament because of the atmosphere created the popular major winner told Europen Tour com There s 27 000 people and they are all going to try to cram onto that 18th hole on Sunday I don t think you could surpass the atmosphere that s going to be here during the week Defending Champion and other notables Nine former winners of the event will be in the field including defending champion Simon Dyson The 34 year old Englishman won at the Killarney Golf and Fishing club 12 months ago and told European Tour com that he is looking forward to the challenge of links golf He said I love links golf it just suits my eye Killarney was a fantastic venue and I loved playing there last year But I ve got to admit there was a bit of a smile when I heard it was coming to a links course here Also playing at Portrush are ten major champions including four from the island of Ireland Three are American former USPGA Champions John Daly who will prove a popular draw Rich Beem and

    Original URL path: http://insideireland.ie/2012/06/27/57th-irish-open-tees-off-on-thursday-special-preview-75131/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Blog » Inside Ireland
    Lifestyle One4all launches first Irish Retail Week Comment and Opinion Opinion Apple and the tax debate Features What is the future of Argos Education and Training Sorry No data so far Environment HSA 18 people died in the agricultural industry in the Republic with 4 of them children Gaeilge Conradh na Gaeilge calls on Ulster University DEL to reverse the decision to end full time BA Irish degree programme on

    Original URL path: http://insideireland.ie/category/blog/page/3/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Opinion: We must learn from the Scots and should hold Irish Government to account on lack of social justice » Inside Ireland
    professional soothsayers divining the future of oil revenue and Scottish whisky exports from the stars There will be nothing easy about making Scotland independent but than nothing that s worth doing ever is David Cameron can no less say with confidence in two years if United Kingdom will still even be part of the EU than if Martin O Neill could say if Ireland will be in the next World Cup Like many people I was gripped with enthusiasm for the potential signal of change the referendum represents so much so that I confess my arguments for an Independent Scotland are reinforced whenever words such as tartan or Biffy Clyro get mentioned But the time for arguments economic or otherwise has passed what matters now is what this campaign means for progressives here and abroad To come from a position where less than a third of Scots supported independence a year ago to the knife edge hanging in the balance situation we see now speaks to what some well placed vision tenacity and belief can do for a cause Social Justice Hopefully this passion can become a beacon not just for social justice but for other equally important things such as anti fascism civil rights and other progressive goals We in Ireland should be holding our Fine Gael and Labour government to account on how our own path to independence gleamed with social justice and how they have yet to deliver the universal healthcare which has been proclaimed to be the most sacred thing in Scotland and its future We must learn from their example So much has been made over the past two years of heart vs the head arguments many dismiss their hearts as silly irrational ranting of selfish nationalism It is time somebody spoke in defence of the heart and its arguments as it is deeply underrated If national pride was such a bad thing then why do countries consistently resist foreign intervention or move closer to a unified world government Why do UKIP insist on escaping the EU The same reason that many Scots now want their vote to matter National pride can be force for good If emotion was such an unimportant factor in this decision then why are there World Cups played by nations to prove which country is the best at something National pride can be a great force for good and community It helps people get through the bad times of the nation s woes and enjoy the good times that much more It has been invoked often enough by the Better Together campaign especially in reference to the two world wars and the shared struggle of Scots and the rest of the Nations in the United Kingdom Yes there are dangers of xenophobic racism just as there are dangers of dictatorship in centralised governments and Stalinism in socialist countries It is possible to be proud of your country and take heart in its achievements and not somehow turn into a raving

    Original URL path: http://insideireland.ie/2014/09/19/opinion-we-must-learn-from-the-scots-and-should-hold-irish-government-to-account-on-lack-of-social-justice-107011/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • This year’s Eurosong contest almost as funny and entertaining as My Lovely Horse » Inside Ireland
    Unlike sports it was something that we could actually win and we did so repeatedly Sadly in recent years Irish people had started to lose interest in Eurovision due to the growth of X Factor the arrival of satellite TV and people just generally having a bit more of a life However last Friday night the Eurovision suddenly became relevant again One explosive row between judges and mentors and all of a sudden Eurovision was back where it belonged providing first class entertainment to the Irish people Comedy Gold This year s Eurosong contest was almost as funny and entertaining as the classic Father Ted episode with their entry My Lovely Horse Running Through the Field With accusations of fixes and judges shouting across the studio at each other it was getting good But when Linda Martin was so personally affronted that anyone should criticise Louis Walsh that she actually leaves her seat to launch an attack on Aslans Billy McGuinness Well that is just comedy gold Friday s Late Late Show was dominated by the great Eurovision debate RTE ie With Ryan Tubridy unable to control his guests or his show and his whining about how it s so unfair on the singers made this compulsive viewing Then it was all topped off by Louis Walshe s messianic response that McGuiness must be on something just because he criticised him The whole point being lost on every one of them is that everybody else is sitting at home thinking but sure its only the Eurovision lads come on now it s not supposed to be serious Social media The Irish people rejoiced in the ridiculousness as every second post on Facebook was the you tube clip of Linda Martin squaring up to McGuiness and Jerry Springer was trending on twitter Then to top off the whole farcical affair there was a technical problem at the end which meant that both the acts associated with Louis Walshe appeared to have won the show In a moment that was truly worthy of Father Ted the scoreboard for the Eurosong contest was unable to display a three digit figure so once the score went over 99 it couldn t be shown Of course the winning song was typical Eurovision It is a truly awful kind of euro trash number approximately twenty years past it s sell by date I d swear it s a re mix of song that I once heard in a gay club in Amsterdam in the early 90s Naturally it will win Eurovision and put Ireland firmly back where it belongs I for one cannot wait for the competition to commence bring it on Irlande deux points Comments Comments are closed Latest Comment and Opinion Opinion Apple and the tax debate In this week s opinion piece Ian Parsley turns its attention to some famous multinationals and the tax debate Comment The water charges will do for Irish Labour what the Poll Tax did for Mrs Thatcher In

    Original URL path: http://insideireland.ie/2014/03/03/this-years-eurosong-contest-almost-as-funny-and-entertaining-as-my-lovely-horse-105355/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Comment and Opinion: The importance of the poppy » Inside Ireland
    other the world has it has become an issue that has affect many people s lives This shows that we are all able to take time out of our busy lives to remember those who have given their lives for our freedom This is a factor we are reminded of during a remembrance parade When you go home today tell them for your tomorrow we gave our today The act of wearing the poppy was inspired by the World War I poem In Flanders Fields Its opening lines refer to the many poppies that were the first flowers to grow in the churned up earth of soldiers graves in Flanders a region of Europe that overlies parts of Belgium and France Poppy Appeal The Poppy Appeal was set up by the Royal British Legion to raise money for support for injured troops The wearing of the poppy has become a tradition in which many people follow for different reasons such as how much people care about our troops however disrespect shouldn t be given to those who do not choose to wear a poppy as it is something that people choose to do On a personal note for years Remembrance Sunday has been something that I have great respect and support for many members of my family have served as members of the armed forces and have been helped by the money raised from the Royal British Legion s Poppy Appeal Members of the Armed Services do a lot for our country when they are serving across the water therefore they should be respected for their commitment I also can only commend the British Legion for their hard work Thom Hinds is a student union officer in Northern Ireland The views expressed in this section do not necessarily reflect the

    Original URL path: http://insideireland.ie/2013/11/11/comment-and-opinion-poppies-%e2%80%93-wearing-as-a-tradition-or-for-other-reasons-81799/ (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive



  •